I do not want MobileMe

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Robert Spoecker, May 5, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #1
    I dont know how MobileMe got into my System Preferences and on the upper right of my toolbar an my Mac but I don't want it there and there seems no way to get rid of it.

    I hate getting things added to my computer and then have no way to get rid of it.

    I may have done something by mistake but even so there should be a simple checkbox to get rid of it.

    Can anyone help me get the presence of MobileMe from my computer?

    Robert
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    afireintonto

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #3
    I don't understand, is this on you're iPad? I only ask because this is the iPad forum.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #4
    Do something useful and point me to the right place, Bro
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #5
    I assume it has something to do with my iPad because if I had no iPad there would be nothing for me to sync with.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #6
  7. macrumors 6502a

    upaymeifixit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #7
    Wow, it looks like you've got some really useless posts in there. People, why not just tell him what info he needs.

    MobileMe is installed by default as it is one of the OS preferences. Do you have a MobileMe account? If you do is this page not there?

    — [Screenshot of MobileMe Sync preferences] —
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #8
    While MobileMe is a default item in the system preferences, it definitely doesn't show up in the top toolbar unless you specifically turn it on.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    upaymeifixit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #9
    I know, but that's different from being installed. Hopefully the OP has just overlooked the checkbox.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #10
    No my preferences want me to log in but I don't want to log in. I just want to bail out and be done with it.

    Robert
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    upaymeifixit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #11
    Oh my bad then. Try Control + Drag the Menubar Item out of the Menubar. Sorry, I forgot about that.
     
  12. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #12
    If you click on the MobileMe icon in System Preferences, it will ask you log in; if you don't have an account, then just ignore it and don't click on it; there is no way to remove MobileMe from the System Preferences—it's part of the OS.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #13
    If you wanna get rid of MobileMe on the top right corner of your Menu Bar, just simply untick "Show Status in Menu Bar"

    As far as removing MobileMe from your System Preferences, no you can't do it. It's part of the system.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #14

    Thank you, command + drag did it. That its presence will remain in my system preferences is ok.

    Grateful,

    Robert
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    upaymeifixit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #15
    No problem, I completely forgot about command + drag, it's pretty nifty. As for that bug (and yes I think it's a bug), I don't really know. Lately I've been having some problems with the menubar icons. The AirPort checkbox in the networking preferences was gone for awhile. I don't know what that was about.

    I'm going to take down the screenshots now.
     

Share This Page