I don't want to wait for leopard but I might want to wait for the X3000. What to do?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dannewell15, Mar 17, 2007.

  1. dannewell15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #1
    I'm hoping to get a regular macbook (2.0ghz core 2 duo processor, 2gb of RAM, 120 or 160 Hdd) but I don't know when to buy it. I really want it soon because I am fed up of my crappy PC. :(

    The thing is though, I don't know whether to wait or not. I'm don't want to wait for leopard, I'll just upgrade when it has been out for a couple of months - I have heard that the first major releases can be buggy anyway.

    I'm not sure if I want to wait for the hardware though because if it is substantial upgrades then I may wait but the first Macbooks had little problems like the heat isues and the "mooing" and I want my first Mac to be as good as it can be. (the issues with the current macbook are mostly solved).

    Will the next macbook definitely have the X3000? The graphics are the only thing that I'm not sure about on the current model (GMA 950). The rest of it is good enough for me and I don't want a pro macbook beacuae it is too big and expensive. Also what exactly is "santa rosa" and what will it mean for Macbooks?


    Thanks in advance for any advice on my first ever mac!

    ps. Sorry for my lack of knowledge - mega newbie :)
     
  2. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    i think the guarantee for this is only about 80%, we dont even know what they are going t release and when? but then again i dont know thats just me and my un-educated guess...
     
  3. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #3
    80% guarantee? If it uses the Santa Rosa chipset, it'll probably be GMA965, which will be the X3000 video.

    You can't really put percentage rates on this, haha. If it uses Santa Rosa and integrated graphics, it'll use some variant of X3000.
     
  4. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #4

    lol TOLD you it was an un-educated guess.... well there you go,, IT WILL BE x3000 video :p
     
  5. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #5
    Yeah, I may want to sell my MacBook just to get the X3000. All I want to do is run 2 screens smoothly, the LCD on my MacBook, and an external display. It's not like I'm asking for much, but I can't do that with the GMA 950 and 64 vRAM (that'd be 32 MB of vRAM for my MacBook LCD, and 32 MB vRAM for the Dell 20" widescreen I just purchased).

    My next MacBook will be the perfect laptop for me, spec-wise.







    ...until the next MacBooks are released after that.
     
  6. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #6
    I got a feeling the Macbooks will get speed bumped before the MBPs this round :)
     
  7. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #7
    i always thought 64 mb was a minimum, supporting up to 224 mb.
     
  8. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #8
    Hmm. . .

    I'm just not sure what to do. This wiki link compares the GMA range of chipsets and if you look in the table under X3000, the chipset mentioned is the "G965 Express". Then, if you look on the second link, that chipset is catagorised under desktop chipsets on intels own website. The third link is what you get if you click on the chipset, just for convienience :)Now being a n00b as I believe the term can be used, I don't know what difference that makes. Any thoughts? :)

    Wiki
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_GMA#GMA_X3000


    Intel
    http://www.intel.com/products/desktop/chipsets/index.htm?iid=prod_desk+sc_chipset


    http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/G965/index.htm






    On another note. . .



    I believe that the gma 950 will supprot up to 224mb within windows like bootcamp or natively, because it supports Windows Vista if for some strange reason you wanted it to. I don't know enough about Macs to know if it will work in the same way.
     
  9. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #9
    Tell that to Apple. The GMA 950 in the MacBook can only access 64 MB of RAM. I'm guessing this is because OS X is so RAM hungry, and they don't want the video card to hog the available RAM, thus limiting the amount of RAM to 64 MB. They also want the difference between the MBP and MB to be larger (although dedicated graphics cards are obviously capable of much more if you have software that requires a decent graphics card).

    I'd be happy with a GMA X3000, and if Apple upp'ed the amount of RAM accessible by the integrated graphics to 96 MB or 128 MB. It would be quite perfect for me.
     
  10. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #10
    Interesting though


    check out this article on apples website. I'm not sure if that confirms anything as it doesn't specify how much can be used up. :S


    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303407
     
  11. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    yes i think they should bump it up to 128 mb, make it come stock with 1GB ram AND upgradable to 3G ram,, wouldn t that make sense? i dont know if that would increase the cost of manufacturing a lot tho?
     
  12. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #12
    G965 is the whole "Santa Rosa" chipset. GMA X3000 is the name for the graphics chipset, which is only part of G965.
     
  13. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #13
    It's a drive issue, really. GMA950 is more than capable of addressing more than 64MB of RAM, as it does in Windows under Boot Camp. Mac OS's drivers simply don't do it, for whatever reason.
     
  14. Manic Mouse macrumors 6502a

    Manic Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #14
    I'm sure Apple will increase the amount of RAM the GPU can access to 128Mb with the X3000, they'll probably make 1Gb the standard across the board for the Macbooks.
     
  15. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #15
    sound slike my wish coming true...
     
  16. chris200x9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #16
    oh wikipedia.....the website where you can be an expert on anything even if you don't know what the hell your talking about :eek: :p
     
  17. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #17

    Fantastic isn't it. Saves my butt on music homework. lol. (sorry I actually used "lol" it seemed appropriate) I'm just trying to understand all of this techness. confused!.com :)

    But Yes. I am aware that I don't know as much as most/any of the kind people trying to help me solve my dillema so you didn't need to point it out. :)
     

Share This Page