I found some 16GB sticks will buy and test 2.

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by philipma1957, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. philipma1957, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

    macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #1
    http://shopping.hp.com/en_US/home-o...eg_r1002_usen_c-001_title_r0001&lang=en&cc=us


    i purchased 2 of these. I will let you all know how they work.


    32gb ram in a mini would be nice. even if you can't get 32gb maybe 16gb + 8gb = 24gb works

    these quads read 32gb ram as max.


    http://ark.intel.com/products/64889/Intel-Core-i7-3820QM-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_70-GHz

    http://ark.intel.com/products/64900/Intel-Core-i7-3615QM-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_30-GHz



    the dual can handle 32gb

    http://ark.intel.com/products/65708/Intel-Core-i5-3210M-Processor-3M-Cache-up-to-3_10-GHz-BGA



    oh the price i paid was under 500 for the pair. since all the cpus can handle 32gb I think the minis could do so.

    once again this would be a specialty buyer as almost no user will push over 16gb very much.

    but what an amazing amount of power in the quad.

    next quarter the crucial 960gb ssd will come out. the quad could have a 1.96gb fusion with 32gb ram.

    if you grab the refurb for 679 add the ram for 500 and the ssd for 600. you are at 1779 some tax and a cable you are at 1850 or so. yeah it is a lot but what a machine!
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2

    You'll have to let us know if they work! When the Haswell Mini's are released, I would love to buy a high end and drop in 32GB (since apparently Haswell is still expected to use DD3 for everything but the Xeons).
     
  3. Giuly, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

    macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #3
    Consumer Ivy Bridge doesn't support Registered memory - but 16GB SODIMM should be around the corner.

    I'd rather install 2x480GB in RAID0 for the same price with the hard drive externally. Fusion Drives are only needed because SSDs are too expensive. If you have to pick between a 1TB SSD and a 1TB hard drive, you always pick the SSD for internal storage.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #4
    does not mean they won't work.

    I can get registered ram to work on quite a few windows mobos.

    I also purchased from an easy return company.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #5
    That might hold true for Socket 2011 (which isn't perfectly consumer), but mobile CPUs and Socket 1155 is another matter.
     
  6. philipma1957, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #6
    I have had a 1155 socket and a 3770k work with registered ram.

    As I said my seller will take a return so it is worth trying.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    #7
    This is very cool, thanks for trying it and thanks in advance for sharing your results. I use a 2012 Mini as a point-of-sale server and more RAM means I can serve more client terminals faster without paging out because of whatever I'm doing on that unit (since the Mini itself is one of the terminals). It runs very well on 16GB, but if the architecture supports 32GB, I will get more useful life out of it.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #8
    Thanks for doing the experiment! When I was researching the specs on the i7 I saw that it said 32GB max and was curious if it would actually work in the Mini. Can't wait to see the results.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #9
    Awesome find phil! I have been waiting for 16 GB SO-DIMMS to be released and didn't know if they would be out with DDR3 or DDR4.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #10
    Just waiting for them is killing me.


    I also am on the fence about grabbing more then two.


    I can get a pair at 470 for a short while.

    which is high but no one has them less then 550 for a pair.

    being a small business it is tough to decide.

    I got burned when the 8gb sticks came out price collapsed on me as

    buyers played the waiting game.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    iPhil

    #11
    For $1,300 n change-- You can get 2.46 TB Fusion drive.. One HDD 1.5 TB and 960 GB SSD



    All from Here ;)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #12

    the hdd is a very tight fit
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #13
    Very cool. I immediately looked up the max ram available for the processors after I got my mini. This is the first time I've seen the 16 GB SODIMMS available, so I will be watching to see if they work. I was on the fence about buying the 2x8 GB or waiting until 1x16's came out and getting a pair.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #14
    they come on thur but i have a feeling that the listing is wrong and that they are 240 pin.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #15
    How did it work out phil? Was it the right ones?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    #16
    Cost

    From a cost factor, the 16GB DDR3s are still too expensive (for me). I recently paid $87 (w/tax) for a Corsair 2x8GB 1600 DDR3 set for my Mini.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #17

    NO they were 240 pin.


    the typo was on HP website.

    THE photo shown was that of a 204 pin stick (laptop)


    the seller was buy.com they copied the typo.
    I did a return today.


    well not only were they costly. I paid 470 or so for 2x 16gb= 32gb

    they

    do not come in laptop form


    As an aside if you look at the highend laptop from hp the envy these sticks are the most purchased component with that laptop. I can see the look on the faces of the envy owner when the over sized sticks arrive!

    If they had existed a handful of users would need more then 2x 8gb = 16gb ram.

    most users do not exceed 6g to 8gb ram even fewer go past 16gb ram.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #18
    On the mini, I found it uncommon to page out with 8gb. I would do it when working on multiple research projects simultaneously but otherwise it didn't happen. I've upgraded to 16gb on my main mini purely because the deal i got was too good ($65) and it allowed me to pass the 8gb of ram i previously used in it to my media mini which was paging out constantly with only 4gb.
     
  19. philipma1957, Feb 15, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #19
    I have found the same.

    I only needed 16gb when I was running windows in vmWare on my quad core.

    There are a few users that could use working 16gb sticks but not many.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #20
    Well thanks anyway for being the guinea pig for us phil. It sucks that 16 GB SO-DIMMS are not yet out.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #21
    I think most users would have the cpu running at maximum capacity on the dual cores before reaching 16gb. I've got a dual core mini and I think the benefits will be quite limited. I've got a number of work/personal/professional/academic projects taking place at the same time right now which might be the rare time I could really come close to maxing out the new 16gb of ram.

    I really don't think is even reasonable on a machine with 4 cores. A 6 or 8 core machine is probably nearer to that threshold.
     

Share This Page