I gave in and put a fan in my cube (now it glow's blue)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Mord, May 4, 2004.

  1. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #1
    sorry about the blurryness
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    Interesting - you should take more pics - what does it look like from the side?

    And why did you need to add the fan?

    D
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #3
    Cool! Know I want one just for the coolfactor!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #4
    it's for my dual prosessor and 7200rpm HD and my radeon 9000
     
  5. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #5
    a better pic
     

    Attached Files:

    • cube.jpg
      cube.jpg
      File size:
      40.8 KB
      Views:
      480
  6. macrumors 65816

    haiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #7
    Now I am not one to go mod a beautiful computer, but that is pretty darn cool.

    PS. its spelled dyslexics :)
     
  8. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #8
    As soon as I get out of college in 2008 or whenever the heck I finish and get a real job, I'm going to indulge my two life long desires to pimp out both a G4 Cube, and a DeLorean. Both WAAAAYYY ahead of their time.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #9
    my desktop with glowing cube:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #10
    grr
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #11
    it looks like its floating in a mysterious haze...

    rad.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #12
    I want one! I wish Apple made something like it, except a little more expandable, and with a video card you could upg without having to worry about space. Nice job!
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    That is really cool.
    What kinda dual processors can you get for the cube?
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #15
    Very nice! I'm curious as to the speed of the machine now - didn't know you could get duals in a cube :D

    D
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #16
    wow! that does look sweet!
    personally i would have gone for a more light blue/almost white color, but who am i?
    that's what some people like to call "pimping"... i don't really get it though :confused:

    so, what are the specs??? xbench???

    reality
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    that's awesome. could you get the light to change colors? that's be even cooler! :D
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #18
    Yes. I too would like to see the specs on this thing. Any way you could post them for us? a DP cube is way cool, esp with that blue light!
     
  19. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #19
  20. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #20
    Dual 450, eh, well, better than my single 450 at home, but not all that zippy I imagine. Do they have faster dual boards available for it? I have an original Sawtooth G4 and I can't add a dual to it - I was very upset when I found out, I could have got a good deal on a dual 1 GHz.....

    D
     
  21. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #21
    powerlogix is working for a dual for the cube but that will take a while the fastest card available now is a single 1.35GHz g4
     
  22. Guest

    #22
    xBench??? Wouldn't the cube be more like a.....xStool? :D
     
  23. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #23
    ha, well the price for a single 1.35 GHz g4 isn't worth doing the upgrade...I'm just going to get a new G5 :D

    D
     

Share This Page