I get told to Update My Firmware when I try to run Boot Camp...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jive, May 7, 2006.

  1. jive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    How do I go about this? All my software is fully updated etc.


    I'm running a 17" iMac (intel obviously) so what's going on?
     
  2. Doubtful macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #2
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
  4. jive thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    I bought my Mac in Early April... And this didn't work >_> I tried a few times.
     
  5. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #5
    When you install the firmware you have to shut down your computer then restart it but hold down the power button until the "sleep" light blinks a couple times... it may even make a noise
     
  6. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #6
    Try it a few times. Some people have had it fail a few times.
     
  7. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #7
    A couple of times it failed to update, so finally I decided to hold the power button all the way through the entire FW update, and that worked...
     
  8. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #8
    That must have brought on a rather sore arm. Mine worked first time, no problems..
     

Share This Page