I have a DVD burner on my PC... is a Superdrive necessary?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by SuperSnake2012, May 16, 2006.

  1. SuperSnake2012 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    I would mostly use the Superdrive for burning movies on iMovie. Is it possible to just create an image and then burn it on my PC? If I could, that would save me a lot of money that could be spent on RAM instead. :)
     
  2. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #2
    I don't think you can make an image of it. You're better off with the SuperDrive.
     
  3. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #3
    I agree, Probably worth getting a superdrive if not have a look at the LaCie external drives they are very nice.

    ShadoW
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Yes, you can definitely create images on the Mac and burn them on a PC after transfer. I have done this since my iBook G4 has a combo drive, but it's much cleaner/faster to have the superdrive or just use an external DVD burner now that iLife '06 isn't as picky as it once was...

    B
     
  5. SuperSnake2012 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    I don't think I'd be doing it all the time... heck, I don't even burn many DVDs on my PC. Decisions, decisions. :(
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    You might not now.. but as HDs get larger and larger, the bandwidth of broadband gets larger and larger, well.. files get larger and larger.
     
  7. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #7
    There's another advantage to just get the combo drive now and get an external burner if you find that you need it: You can get a double layer burner that way.
     
  8. superwoman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Monterey,CA
    #8
    Agreed. I don't think I need more than 1 burner in your house. But I have a question: How does one create an image on Mac, then burn on PC? What software to use on the Mac and PC respectively?
     

Share This Page