i have a powerbook g4 i"m the only user and when i

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jojobarkho, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #1
    hi guys

    when i try to open the desktop in finder, it prompts me saying i have insufficient privileges. i find this odd as i'm the only user.

    can anybody help, thanks
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    You mean opening your Desktop folder like this?
    [​IMG]

    Can you right click on the Desktop folder and select Get Info and look at the Sharing & Permissions tab and see what is set there?
    [​IMG]

    Did you try repairing permissions via Disk Utility?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #3
    try repairing permissions via Disk Utility, if it not well, please resintaller system. must.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #4
    thanks for your help guys....its was to do with the permission. all working now.
     
  5. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    First order of business is when you're running into permissions problem is try to repair them.

    Glad that you're machine back to normal now. :D
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #6
    im reasonly new to mac - though i much prefer them to PC - i've got this powerbook g4 off a friend which has saved a lot of cash.

    I need to start upgrading this bad boy...its 1.3ghz, 512mb ram (poor i know!!!), running on os x 10.2.8, could some1 please advise me on the best operating system i could upgrade it to? is it worth me upgrading the ram?

    many thanks

    Happy Macing
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    It depends on your definition of worth. I would probably seriously consider the cost/benefit of buying RAM and a new OS version vs. selling it and getting a used Macbook with an Intel processor.

    OTOH, it supports both Tiger (10.4) and Leopard (10.5), even if you don't upgrade the memory. Depending on what your performance expectations are, you might be happy with either one on 512MB. They'll both run quite a lot better with more memory.
     
  8. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    You can upgrade up to 2GB, and according to most users Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) will run fine, but my experience tells me Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) is the better fit.
    But Leopard has quite good features like Quick Look and Spaces, so that might be a deciding factor.

    And don't let 10.2.8 fool you. Mac OS X 10.3/4/5 are quite huge leaps compared to 10.2.8.
     

Share This Page