I have a simple quesion about the dock

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mr. E, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. Mr. E macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #1
    Hi,
    I've been looking around and I tried asking "Help" on my Mac (I think I don't know how it wants the question asked...hehe!).

    Anyways...can somebody please just tell me how you make a url in the dock (the icon looks like a button w/ an "@" symbol on top--on a spring)?

    I tried dragging a url from the address box on my browser and a few other things, but nothing worked.

    Thanx. ;)
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Drag the URL to the right side of the Dock. It won't work on the left side (with all the apps). :)
     
  3. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #3
    Drag and drop the link to the desktop from the URL bar. Find the icon, CMD+I to get into on the icon file, select the icon (a blue border will be around it in the information window at the very top when you click on it), hit CMD+C to copy the icon, get info (CMD+I) on the .webloc file and click on the icon so you see the blue border, and CMD+V to paste it.
     
  4. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Yes. Here is an example. Click to play movie.

    [​IMG]

    Brought to you by Lacero's Animated Demos™
     
  5. Flying Llama macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I don't see anything...

    EDIT: would it be this? :D

    EDIT2: Strange, it doesn't work in Firefox, Opera, Camino or Internet Explorer, but it does in Safari... sorry. BTW, nice job.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6

    Aww... Isn't (s)he lovely. :)

    Do all browsers support this? Maybe Mr. E is using something quirky...
     
  7. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Hawaii
  8. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    That's because you got to click the picture. :D
     
  9. Flying Llama macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Heh, but I don't even see the picture! It only works in Safari.

    llama :eek:
     
  10. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  11. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #11
    Still doesn't work

    Hmmm...that's funny.

    I looked at that movie, and that's exactly what I tried on my own before.

    The thing is...it doesn't work that way for me. When I drag the url into the dock...it does stick, and it works too. But...it looks like a dog-earrred piece of paper instead of the little spring button (and I have the "Apple" spring button on there that came installed on my comp...so I obviously CAN make them like the spring).

    BTW, I got a brand new iMac G5 w/ "Tiger" (and I believe a totally new type of processor).

    I tried following all those written instructions above...but I honetly don't understand it very well. I did get part way ok. :D
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Take a screenshot (COMMAND-SHIFT-3) and post it here. Maybe you have corrupt permissions or something. :)
     
  13. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #13
    see attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    I'm not getting the dog eared piece of paper. I only see a few folders and the single (original) spring link. Maybe try it from Safari. :)
     
  15. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #15
    Are you trying to get the look of the spring-icon in the dock to carry over onto your desktop?
     
  16. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #16
    No. I tried it w/ Safari as well as Firefox. The same thing happens.
    Oh...I already had removed the paper-icon from the dock. i left it on the desktop so u could see how it looks


    And no. Lacero...I'm trying to make a spring icon in the dock. I tried dragging the url straight to the dock, and I also tried dragging it onto the sektop...and then onto the dock. Either way, it still looks like a piece of paper.
     
  17. SummerBreeze macrumors 6502a

    SummerBreeze

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    When I pull a URL from Safari, it works and looks like a spring, however nothing works at all from Firefox. This might be because Safari is Apple while Firefox is not, I don't know. My advice would be to just use Safari to set up your dock, then use Firefox for normal surfing.
     
  18. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #18
    Try repairing your permissions from Disk utility and if that does nothing (most likely true) then trash the Dock's preferences (com.apple.dock.plist). :)
     
  19. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #19
    Thanx summerbreeze, but I guess u misunderstood...the same thing happens with BOTH browsers.

    but I'll try run a disc repair mad jew (like you, I don't have high hopes for it). I'm not sure what you mean by trashing my dock preferences (a joke perhaps?), but I sure will try treaking around with them.

    But thanx for trying everybody.:cool:
     
  20. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #20

    No joke. Just do a search for com.apple.dock.plist and remove it from the folder it's already in (User/Library/Preferences) and restart. It should be replaced with the default settings. It's a pretty common way of fixing strange software idiosyncrasies like this in OSX. :)
     
  21. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #21
    i get the paper look if I put it on the desktop or if I put it on the desktop and then move it to the dock, but if I drag it straight to the dock in one movement it looks like the spring.....so try getting it to the dock in one movement without stopping on the desktop
     
  22. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #22
    Made with Snapz Pro?
     
  23. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #23
    Not to Hi-Jack the thread..

    mad jew,

    Would Trashing any other app .plist work in that app to fix or resolve an issue? Or trashing the .plist of an app should be the first option to fix software idiosyncrasies ? :confused:


    iphil
     
  24. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #24

    Spot on. Well, sort of. Generally repairing permissions is the first job (Disk Utility) although it's usually not terribly fruitful. Trashing preferences is a pretty safe second step though.

    The great thing about OSX is that trashing the preferences is kinda like reinstalling the entire app but obviously much quicker. Just remove the relevant PLIST (preference) file from the folder it's within (you don't even have to delete it) and next time you open the app it'll create a new default one for you. Only do this if the app isn't running though.

    Another cool thing is that if you keep the file and removing preferences did nothing, then you can close the app and drag the original preference file back into the relevant folder, replacing the newer one, to keep all your old settings. :)
     
  25. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #25
    I realize you were trying to help, and I appreciate that.

    But not only did it not work, but I had to completely rebuild my dock from scratch...AND
    ...I have now seem to have lost my iMovie program. In my dock, I noticed a couple of question marks. When I put my cursor over them, it indicated Quicktime & iMovie. I have searched my entire disc. I found Quicktime, but iMovie is nowhere to be found.

    I was worried about dumping an important thing like that.
     

Share This Page