I have a virus!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by applecrag, Aug 14, 2005.

  1. applecrag macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #1
    hey everyone. i really hope some of yall can help me out. today i noticed on safari if i try and do a google search i get an error saying "i have spyware or a virus and the search cannot be completed." safari cant even bring up most pictures. i cant even see anyones avatars! i think i know the problem. i had my internet set up to use PPPoE instead of DHCP. i did this because i had problems hosting on warcraft with DHCP...the routers at the internet provider blocked my ports. so the PPPoE opened them up. but now anything can get into my computer! ive never had this problem after many years of using macs. i tried downloading ClamXav from macupdate as a free virus scanner. i checked safari but there were no viruses. i restarted...nothing changed. could this be a security flaw in tiger? i hope not. can someone please help me? i hate knowing something is wrong with my G5...thank you all.
     
  2. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #2
    :eek:Virus!:eek:cb08476B08wyrbv047G0v0bv0487GBV:eek:Virus!:eek:
    :eek:Virus!:eek:cb08476B08wyrbv047G0v0bv0487GBV:eek:Virus!:eek:




    Since when do macs get viruses? You might be mistaken old chap.
     
  3. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Could you post a screen shot please. It'll probably help. :)
     
  5. applecrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #5



    maybe i am mistaken but im pretty sure im not...safari is really bugged. i have to do everything on firefox now. by the way...sorry for my poor english...not ready for school yet
     
  6. zakatov macrumors 6502a

    zakatov

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Florida
    #6
    no you don't.

    EDIT: why would you check Safari for viruses?? :confused:
     
  7. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #7
    Please get us a screen shot of where Safari is telling you about virus and spyware. Thanks!
     
  8. applecrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #8


    i dont know. :confused:
     
  9. applecrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #9
    SCREENSHOT

    screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  10. deputy_doofy macrumors 65816

    deputy_doofy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    #10
    Yeah... I think that's a Google error. I've already seen that on a number of machines. I don't think it's your machine at all.
     
  11. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #11
    Go to where Safari is giving you an issue or showing you the spyware error. Press COMMAND+SHIFT+3, in order as how I stated, holding down one and then keeping it held down while pressing the next (at the end you should be holding all 3, and then let go).

    On your desktop should be a file titled Picture 1.PNG (if you're on Tiger) Picture 1.pdf (Panther). Not sure about older than that.

    Make a new post on this thread and there will be an option below the typing area called Manage Attachments. Click that and follow the instructions to attach an image!

    Submit the post, and we'll look at the problem and tell you more.
     
  12. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
  13. applecrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #13

    whew thats good...ill just see if safari works itself out of the "bugs" it seems to be having now with the pictures not loading. thanks!
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    I just got the error on Google recently.

    You definitely DON'T have a virus. The problem is with the link. There's something in the link that Google doesn't like and that's the default splat that comes up.

    Don't worry about it, search on.
     
  15. applecrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #15


    ha i have no idea how to use photoshop. i can only export pictures in different formats.
     
  16. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16
    Seems like a Google error to me. What were you searching for? We may be able to replicate it. :)
     
  17. deputy_doofy macrumors 65816

    deputy_doofy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    #17
    The first time I saw that was on a Windows XP machine running FireFox. I've also gotten it on my G5 (FireFox also).
    I think I did a search on a URL and it gave me that error every time. Searched for other things and it worked fine.
     
  18. applecrag thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #18

    actually all i searched for was "apple." must be a google bug though. thanks for the help guys...yall are great! :)
     
  19. nsutt22 macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #19
    If my Mac got a virus... i think I'd keep it :)

    I could prly eBay it!!!
     
  20. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #20

    Yeah, "Apple" searches are coming up fine for me now but it was still probably just a Google problem.
     
  21. Xephian macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #21
    There's probably some free anti-virus software out there.
     
  22. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #22
    Yes there is. No need. It's not a virus.
     
  23. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #23
    Like OMFG are we sure? :p :D
     
  24. amin macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #24
    This thread is a pretty good advertisement for the Mac OS :D.
     
  25. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    Fairly sure!!!!1111oneone!1 :)

    I do remember now that I got this Google error while trying to link to an image from their image search.
     

Share This Page