I have money I need to spend... what should I buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Chrispy, May 3, 2005.

1. Chrispy macrumors 68020

Chrispy

Hello. I am in a rather odd situation at the moment. I was saving up money to buy a new mac at some point during the summer and I have more than enough momey in the bank to do so. However, my greedy college is doing its occasional financial check that they do on top of the FASFA. This check is a random thing from what I understand and they have done it to me before when I was a sophomore (now going to be a senior). Problem is, as a student if I have over ~$2000 in the bank they deduct that money from my financial aid (gift grant and loans). I figured this out the first time this happened and got slightly burned. They even go so far as to look into your investments (I currently own some stock as I have already started saving for retirement). If you have too much tied up in investments they want you to cash some of that in and use it too. I would rather not loose my grant since it is free money and they only way to do this is to drain some money from my savings (yes, sad but true). Soooo (after a long explanation) here is my situation....

I am debating between going with three different systems to purchase and I was wondering what you would all suggest. I am going to be using the system to do some video work as I run a small business (very small just started up) making video slideshows and converting VHS to DVD and what not. It is nothing too major most of the time but speed is good. I have the PC in my sig that I use for it now but I would much rather do it on a mac. Here are the three I am debating...

New Dual 2.0GHz Powermac with the 9650 graphics and 1Gig of Ram for $1934 before tax of 6% and with student discount figured in.

15" Powerbook configured to 128MB VRAM for $2189