I Installed Tiger, Now Stuff is Broke

Discussion in 'macOS' started by goodknight411, May 30, 2005.

  1. goodknight411 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Location:
    MiddlaNowhere, Arkansas
    #1
    Alright, I upgraded to Tiger on my G4 PB last night. I was planning to do a clean install but I didn't. Now iMovie won't work, I get the "You cannot open the application iMovie because it may be damaged or incomplete"
    Also, Windows Media Player 'quits unexpectedly after opening'.

    WMP was working last week, but I haven't tried to use iMovie in several months.

    Is this Tiger? What do I do?

    I have apple care on my PB, so should I call?

    Thanks,
    Jessica :confused:
     
  2. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    I think they're just going to tell you to do a clean install, so you mine as well try that yourself after backing upi your data. :(
     
  3. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #3
    If they are the only two problem apps try re-installing them.
    iMovie from the iLife Discs or the Discs that came with the PB, and WMP (which is simply crap anyway) from a download or archived disc image.
    Good luck! :)
     
  4. Claudia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, orginally from Los Angeles
    #4

    I know this sounds really silly, but, how does one exactly do a "clean install"? I will be installing Tiger tomorrow afternoon and would prefer to do this type of installation since everyone here seems to reccomend it. Also, when i do a clean install, will i be able to put iLife from Panther onto Tiger?

    Thanks!

    Claudia

    p.s.

    in one week i am going to be a college graduate! GAH! This post script was more for me than anyone :)
     
  5. MacSA macrumors 68000

    MacSA

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #5
  6. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Try reinstalling or downloaded newer versions of the software that is giving you problems. Thats what i had to do and now i don't have anymore problems.
     
  7. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    I formatted my Hard drive and did a Clean Install and Have not expiranced 1 problem thus far at all.

    I suggest you do the same
     
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8

    At one point in the Tiger install there's an option for 'Options' or something. Once you click that a little window comes up where you can check off "Clean Install". As far as iLife...you can use Pacifist (google it) to take any individual programs you may need off of your Panther disks.

    Hope that helps!
     
  9. Phat_Pat macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
    #9
    I need to erase mine sometime soon......

    so many damn kernal attacks....
     
  10. Claudia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, orginally from Los Angeles
    #10
    Hello!

    Thanks for the tip, I've actually encountered a problem. First off, I have two installation disks for Panther, aren't there supposed to be three? Secondly, when I place the Panther install disks into my computer, the only files I can find are the following: "Install Mac OSX & Bundled software" "Read me" and "Install Bundled Software only" I tried installing bundled software only, however, the app i need is Apple Works 6.0, and when i "install bundled software only" Apple Works 6.0 is not one of them. How do I find the .pkg for Apple Works 6.0 on my Panther installation disks, when I can't find any .pkg files? Or am I simply missing a third disk and thats why I cant find the .pkg? I need appleworks so i can write my LAST college paper of my life which is due tomorrow :( Anyway, thank you for all of your help!
     
  11. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #11
    those are restore disks. do as he said and look for Pacifist (Google it... or if you're lazy... http://www.charlessoft.com/ ) and use that to find appleworks and iLife '04 or whatever version.
     
  12. Claudia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, orginally from Los Angeles
    #12
    Update

    hehe sorry if I exhibit dense qualities :) But all I have are the restore disks for Panther and sadly not the complete set (missing the 3rd) I used Pacifist to find the bundles, and now I have three versions of AppleWorks 6.0, Korean, Japanese and International English ROFL. Thank you for ALL of your help and being so patient with me. :p
     
  13. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #13
    i don't think there's 3. i think there's only 2. Only 2 came with my machine anyway, both dvd's.
     
  14. Claudia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, orginally from Los Angeles
    #14
    Two came with my machine as well (obviously) However, my computer prompted me to put in the 3rd disk, so thats why I believe I am missing one.
     
  15. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #15
    This is what's in Disc 3 (nothing you can't do without - you can download QT from Apple, and Epson drivers, if you need them, from Epson):
     

    Attached Files:

  16. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #16
    odd, all that is on either disc 1 or disc 2 for me. mine is from a revision C Powerbook... 2 dvd's. arrived May 1st last year.
     
  17. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #17
    This is the 3-CD set, not DVD. X-Code is on a 4th CD.
     
  18. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #18
    ohhh ok, well that makes all the difference then :p thanks for the heads up there.
     
  19. Claudia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, orginally from Los Angeles
    #19

    Oh! thanks for the tip! So I guess I will scour the Apple site to download X11. Thank so much again!
     

Share This Page