i just bought an external harddrive.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by teh noob, May 21, 2005.

  1. teh noob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Location:
    toronto
    #1
    I'm running tiger on a 12" ibook.

    I read the instructions which basically say "plug it in".
    nothing happens.
    I went to system profiler, it recognizes it's there.
    do i have to mount it? if so, how do i do that?

    thanks for your help.
     
  2. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #2
    Duff-Man says...perhaps it has not been formatted (although it usually would tell you this...). Try opening up Disk Utility (in your applications/Utilities folder) and formatting the drive.....oh yeah!
     
  3. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #3
    Yeah, when you open up disk utility, click on the HDD, then click File->Mount
     
  4. teh noob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    thanks man. I opened disk utility, it doesn't appear in there.
     
  5. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #5
    I'm on my PC right now, but I'm booting up my mac to help - I'm using my PC to listen to some WMA's till I can convert them to MP3's.

    What OS?
     
  6. teh noob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    i think the thing might be dead.

    I'm on tiger.
    I don't see it in system profiler anymore.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Does it spin up or light up or any such thing when you plug it in?
     
  8. teh noob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Location:
    toronto
    #8
    it is rather quiet.
    but if i touch it i feel it spinning.
     
  9. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Is it running off USB or FireWire? Is it possible that the ports you're using are faulty?
     
  11. teh noob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    it only came with software for windows.

    I think it may be the ports... i'm just going to reboot to make sure... see you in a bit.

    ty everyone for your help
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    If it's spinning, it might be faulty but it seems unlikely....
     

Share This Page