I Just got a G5 Desk, can I use my emac as the screen

Discussion in 'macOS' started by icesac26, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. icesac26 macrumors member

    icesac26

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #1
    I want to use a G5 Tower, and I am hopeing It can become my newer system instead of my eMac. But I am hopeing since I dont have a screen can I use the eMac as a screen only
     
  2. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  3. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #3
    No not easily. Sorry, THough lcds are pretty cheap these days.
    :)
     
  4. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  5. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #5
    Hypothetically if you managed to find a pin-out diagram for the emacs internal monitor connector and a diagram for a standard VGA monitor you may be able to splice the internal cable to a normal VGA cable.:D

    Though the emac would then be useless and their is a chance you could bork the emac's screen. You could also accidentally damage your G5's video card if you do an incorrect splice:eek: .

    It would be more advisable to either buy a cheap LCD and use the emac for something else or sell the emac and use the money for a uber nice 20" widescreen LCD.
     

Share This Page