I just missed Bill Gates

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by Koodauw, Oct 13, 2005.

1. Koodauw macrumors 68040

Koodauw

Bill Gates was a surprise guest lecturer at a Comp Science class at the UW yesterday. While I am not a comp sci guy, it would of been cool to sit in on a lecture like that. I feel bad for anyone who skipped class that day.

Link

2. clayj macrumors 604

clayj

I've met him (and talked to him) twice. I've also got a Microsoft Mouse 2.0 (the "Dove Bar" mouse) with his signature on it, sealed up in a Ziploc bag. :)

3. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

4. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

Sdashiki

What can the mr im not a programmer I dont write code or really do anything Gates tell you about Computer Science other than what his company does for it?

5. im_to_hyper macrumors 65816

im_to_hyper

Wait. The UW -- that would be Madison... since your location is the #1 party school?

And given who the speaker was, they probably didn't miss too much. Oh well, I don't mind him. Too bad he didn't give away free stuff to the class.

EDIT: Idiot Me. Click link. Badger Herald. Yup.

6. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

Chaszmyr

Uhh.... Unlike Steve Jobs, Bill Gates can write code (though I am well aware he didn't write any of the code that he is most famous for).

7. tristan macrumors 6502a

Gates is trying to get more people into computer science. It's an uphill battle though - the tech job market has been lousy for years and doesn't seem to be getting much better.

8. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

He's also stopping at University of Waterloo in Canada, I believe. One time in the past, he has said it was his favourite university to recruit from. :)

9. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly