Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

x86isslow

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 10, 2003
USA
I'm a sophomore at UMass/Amherst. I never thought I'd join a fraternity, mostly because the existing ones here all suck. But then, a few guys thought it was high time that UMass got a new fraternity. So they're trying to start a chapter of Pi Kappa Phi.

Earlier this week, I went to the information session, and decided I liked it, and so yesterday, I pledged!

Any Pi Kapps here? How did you like your experience?

x86isslow

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 10, 2003
USA
feakbeak said:
LOL... nice. :)

I never understood the point fraternities. What's wrong with just having friends? You know ones you don't have to pay for.

haha, i suppose that's one way of looking at it :p. i just want to be able to change the image of umass a bit. and i figure a fraternity that's different from the crap frats we have here is a good way of doing that.

all i know is i'm never ever ever wearing two polo shirts :rolleyes: at the same time.
and Definitely never a pink and green polo :eek: <--- hopefully that redeems me a bit :D

feakbeak

macrumors 6502a
Oct 16, 2003
Michigan
x86isslow said:
haha, i suppose that's one way of looking at it :p. i just want to be able to change the image of umass a bit. and i figure a fraternity that's different from the crap frats we have here is a good way of doing that.

all i know is i'm never ever ever wearing two polo shirts :rolleyes: at the same time.
and Definitely never a pink and green polo :eek: <--- hopefully that redeems me a bit :D
Meh, don't mind me. I've never been one for formal social groups. Fraternities are widely varied from service/volunteer frats, to social (i.e. drinking/partying) frats to academic frats - many of these are helpful for a university's culture.

I would stay away from the green and pink polo though. :D

Stampyhead

macrumors 68020
Sep 3, 2004