I just want to say thanks!

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by SRLMJ23, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I really want to thank everyone on this forum for all their help. I'm new to the Mac and every question I've asked has been answered with a successful solution. So thank you everybody for making this a great experience!!!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #2
    I would agree a great group of folks!
     
  3. macrumors demi-god

    Arelunde

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    CA Central Coast
    #3
    I feel the same way. This is one of the best forums I've even participated in. Quality answers (usually) with a lot of information. Trolling kept to a minimum.
     
  4. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #4
    Always good to see praises for the assistance other provide here. I know I've received my fair share of help and am thankful for it too.:)
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Forum Freshman

    I'm very thankful for the help/tips that i have recieved from Macrumor's people. I enjoy learning on here, and hope i can answer a post before (and be right) soon.
    I do have a question though. If i want to put a link (by copy & paste) in a post or reply, How? I have tried it and it doesn't highlight or shrink like everyone else's links. I take it that i can't post pics yet...no problem. But, a link not either?:confused:
    I read the FAQ's page and rules..didn't see why. Maybe i'm pasting it wrong.
    Thanks again folks.:apple:
     
  6. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    1. First, you highlight whatever text in your post you want to turn into a link, such as the Forum Rules.
    2. Now click the create link icon [​IMG] and type or paste the URL you want, such as http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:Forum_Rules
    3. Then complete your post and the results look like this: Forum Rules
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    And YOU have been my biggest help to me since i've been here:)
    GGJ So, I have to put some kinda text first(no matter what) just to bring up the create icon? I can have any word (click here or link) i'm pretty sure i got it now. I seen a few just say "Here" before. I'll try to keep questions to a minimum and just keep learning. Cool having your expertise in help. Thanks much.:D
     
  8. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Just like this: Google
    ScreenCap 7.PNG
    ScreenCap 8.PNG
    Happy to help!
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    If you helped me with something, and another person later on had the same problem/question. Would it be rude to you/others to post your same links to help them?
    Example; RAM spec's "link" you posted for me, and copy & patse that for someone else? For one thing, I don't know as much as you about it, so should i just keep to myself then, and let more qualified people answer post's?
    Thanks GGJstudios
     
  10. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    No, it's not rude at all. simsaladimbamba and others quote and repost my links quite often. As long as people get the information they need, it doesn't matter who posts it or who gets "credit" for it. Help whoever you can. That's what makes this a great forum.
     
  11. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #11
    I even created a Guide on one of GGJstudios posts...
     
  12. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #13
    OK Thanks GGJ and Stridemat. :D
    No need to reply if i'm right on this... If your links are already made on Macrumors, I don't need to go through the "create link"(copy & paste only)? Only, when i use a URL from outside of this forum, do i need to create link as you showed me above.
     

Share This Page