I killed my printer .... need a new one

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Kwyjibo, Aug 24, 2004.

1. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

Nov 5, 2002
    So the other day I spilled some water on my ML 1710 I got just over a year ago, I didn't know that it seeped in and today I go to turn it on , and it acts strange and smells like burning. I click it off and decide there must be water inside, i unscrew the top cover nd try to get as muc hwater out .... but i think its a failed effort, both of the lgiths (red and green) are flashing and SAMSUNG won't let me download a manual ... so if anyone has any advice on this lemme know but at the same time I'm a student and by next week i'll want to be printing.

This being said I felt limited by my laser for pictures and stuff and no color last year so if I have to buy a new printer I will be sad ( over the cash and death of my death of a fairly new printer ) ... but I'll have to move on for my mistake.
    So I need some recomendations, I would like to spend about a hundred bucks (student budget ) but a little bit eitherway wouldn't kill my wallet. I would love sometihng with a good mac driver ( the samsung one was crappy). My family has an older canon i520 at home , and it has worked well, I can buy the ink on ebay for really cheap and thats a major plus. This will be mostly for text but I want picture capabilites just for fun usually. If anyone can help let me know ...

edit: personal experiences are preferred.
  2. FuzzyBallz macrumors 6502a

May 2, 2003
    Home of Al-Qaida
    Pick a Canon, pretty much any Canon w/ individual ink tanks. I bought the S530D a while ago, works well on both Panther and WinXP. Its successor I guess is the i560. It's $83 from amazon, supports Panther, 4 individual tanks.

I'd stay away from the cheaper all purpose 2 ink tank Canons. I ones I've tried leak ink for no reason. Maybe they fixed the problem in newer models, who knows.