I know where it's "@" - but how to type it?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by c-Row, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. c-Row macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Installed Bootcamp on my shiny MBP - everything is fine so far. I just didn't figure out yet how to type the @ symbol? "Alt Gr" + "Q" doesn't work of course, since there is no "Alt Gr" key on the MBP's keyboard layout... ;)

    (I copy & paste'd it from a website, but I don't think that's quite elegant...)
     
  2. calculus Guest

    calculus

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #2
    This is what happens when you flirt with the dark side.
     
  3. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    I am a man who loves danger and excitement! :cool:
     
  4. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    you need to reconfigure your keys in Windows, so Alt Gr appears. You can use Windows server ressource kit tools to do so, just download them here.

    Then run the program remapkeys (or something like that). When the program is running, you get two keyboards on your screen, and you then drag keys from the top to the bottom. The bottom one is your new layout.
     
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
  6. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    In Windows Shift + 2 will give you a double quote and Shift + ' will give you the at sign - this is the standard keyboard layout. If it bothers you then you can remap keys, as suggested by NJuul.

    Sean :)
     
  7. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Didn't know, Windows illiterate as I am. Probably wouldn't have bothered to remap my keys if I'd known. Oh well.
     
  8. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Press ALT and type 0064 on the numeric keypad.
     
  9. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    Unfortunately my MBP is all out of numeric keypads at the moment. :p (no, it won't work after activating via FN and F6 neither)


    Seems like I would have to, since I am not using the standard US keyboard layout, but German.
     
  10. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #10
    when i was on my mbp, bootcamp to xp, shift+2 gives me @... what's the problem?
    okay.. fine, i'm using US standard keyboard, i dont know about keyboard of other languages.
     
  11. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    On my layout, SHIFT+2 gives me a ".

    Oh, to clear things up a bit - activating the numeric keypad on my MBP works under XP, it's just that he doesn't seem to recognize the ALT + 0064 trick. All he gives me is the Bell Of Rejection.
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Well, if ctrl-alt-2 didn't work (never really got an answer to that), how about ctrl-alt-Q?
     
  13. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    I think I tried that, too, but I will double check tonight.
     
  14. mst0192 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    #14
    german keyboard, german windows?

    try ctrl+alt+apple + q
    it works..

    at least with the apple keyboard (german layout) and a german version of win xp (over vnc)
     
  15. Syn- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #15
  16. -::ubermann::- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #16
    mmm so i cannot write it by alt-64, (im not a mac user already, still deciding) how do you introduce ASCII?
     
  17. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #17
    No **** Sherlock! :D

    Sorry, none of the above options work, except maybe for the remapping approach.
     
  18. Syn- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #18
    :rolleyes:
     
  19. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    Sorry, that might have come a bit too sarcastic from my side. I didn't tell that I am a (forced) long-time Windooze user, so I already know what I would need to press under XP - my fault.
     
  20. KristianSP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #20
    Works anywhere but Outlook and Word

    Anyone still reading this thread? Please!?

    The Ctrl + Alt + 2 trick works throughout Windows XP on my Macbook Pro (running Parallels or BootCamp), with the notable exception of Word and Outlook (in other Office products, like Excel, it works fine). Especially in Outlook this is exceptionally annoying.

    Why would it work everywhere but in these two applications? I know Office uses Word as it's e-mail editor, but even in the address field it doesn't work.

    Please, please, anyone who's got a solution? I'm about to go nuts.
     
  21. asksarabi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #21
    Kris,

    Do you see two button next to the right of space bar? They are CMD and ALT buttons. They are between the space bar and the arrow buttons.

    Push them and Q button at the same time. CMD + ALT + Q. Here we go. @

    Don't use the ones on the left side of the space bar.

     
  22. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    #22
    This thread is 4 years old.
     

Share This Page