I lack permissions to replace an application with a newer version?!?!?!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by dontmatter, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    #1
    When I update an application by dragging a new copy into the applications folder, I get a message saying "this operation canot be completed because you do not have sufficient privilages for some of the items". I can throw the old one away, and then put in the new one, but it doesn't work if I just drag, and hit yes when they say, "an older version of this application already exists in this location, do you want to replace it with the one your moving?"

    This doesn't happen for everything, adium was good, but firefox was not. My previous user file got corrupted, a while back, and I had to use panther install disks to make a root password, and then use that to make my current account, retrieve some stuff, etc. So, I'm on an admin account, and the other one doesn't exist anymore, but somehow it's not letting me do quite everything, and it's not giving me the chance to use my password to override it.

    Help?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    It looks to me as though the Firefox group permissions are wrong, so if someone else in the group tries to modify Firefox, it can't be done. Obviously, they can't anticipate every user account name out there, so they need to get the permissions right to avoid this again.

    (Yes, I use my admin account, but not root.) :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #3
    i recommend just fixing the disk permissions and your set.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #4
    If that worked for me, it would be a good suggestion.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #5
    did it not work?

    let me go through it a bit more


    to repair disk permissions go to the utilities folder in the application folder. in that folder there is the disk utility program. select your hard drive then first aid, then repair permissions.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    #6
    hmmm.... it's happened to a number of applications, and all recently, so it feels like this might not be quite on, as it looks like a system thing, not a firefox thing...unless you're saying the switch caused it, and some apps are going to be sensitive to this and some not? Sounds 'bout right, I suppose. thanks.

    wait... where in the preferences is that? Can't find it at all...
     
  7. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #7
    i know how to fix permissions and stuff
    regardless...this happens even after you repair permissions.
    I personally like to open terminal and play around with something called rm ;)
    or just do it the ordinary way by authenticating with an admin name/pass.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #8
    the screenshot is from the get info window. (select item, press apple+i)
     

Share This Page