I lost Appleworks!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by GreyFox1221, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. GreyFox1221 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    #1
    Ever since I installed
    -Photoshop
    -Flash
    -Dreamweaver
    -Freehand
    -Audacity
    -NVU
    -Blender
    -Fireworks
    -IHMC Cmap Tools
    Appleworks is no longer on my computer. Did one of these programs delete it and how can I get it back
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    No, these applications did not delete Appleworks in the normal course of installing.

    The must usual thing that I see is people accidentally click, hold and drop something into another folder as they are sweeping the mouse from one spot to another.

    Have you searched for the filename Appleworks? See if it still on the drive but in an unconventional location.

    If you need to reinstall, you should have Appleworks on one of the OS disks that came with your machine, as long as it was one of the "consuler" models of Mac.
     
  4. GreyFox1221 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
  5. GreyFox1221 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    #5
    I reinstalled the bundled software but it still isn't on my computer.
     
  6. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #6
    Let us know what Mac model you own, please...
     
  7. GreyFox1221 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8
    Are you sure it was there in the first place? I know there were some computers that for some reason did not ship with AppleWorks on them.
     
  9. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    If you end up not being able to get it, I could probably send you AppleWorks. Is that illegal?
     
  10. jsalzer macrumors 6502a

    jsalzer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #10
    On a backup?

    Silly question, but do you happen to have it on a backup? Even if you had it carried over from an old Mac and it's not on your current install cd's, you've probably backed it up a hundred times. AppleWorks tends to keep to itself, so reinstalling it is a simple matter of dragging it off of a backup and into your Apps folder.

    If it's not on your computer's original install CD and you didn't include your Apps in your regular backups, you can always purchase AW. The good news is that, on one CD, you get AW for Mac and Windows! :)
     
  11. GreyFox1221 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    #11
    I know it was there because i used it a lot. Also I don't keep a backup of apps. (I do back up other stuff)

    Could it be that its a hidden file now or something?
     

Share This Page