I Love My Mac!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by miseldine, Jun 18, 2005.

1. miseldine macrumors newbie

Apr 28, 2005
    As a long time Windows user, I slowly got more and more peeved at the performance of my supposedly super-fast, state of the art Sony Vaio. I'm a PhD researcher, and so I have a whole bunch of applications running at once when compiling a report or paper. Endnote, numerous instances of Acrobat, a few copies of Word, and a dozen browser screens, and some music, were enough to grind my Vaio to a halt.

I just can't say how much easier the whole process of researching is when using a Mac. I want something from the machine, it does it instantly. No waiting for the hard drive to thrash around, no need to put up with slow application starts, or software crashes. With a Mac, when I have an idea, I can write it down instantly, not get frustrated anymore. I can't say how much this has eased the whole burden of writing.

I've now sold my Vaio, and I've bought an iMac to complement my Powerbook. I wouldn't hesistate to recommend Apple's to anyone who does any type of research, or just wants to have a bit of fun out of their machine.

Thanks to all the Macrumor members who answered my questions before I switched, and keeping up such a valuable resource for those who still have a foot in the Windows world. Keep it up!
  2. wdlove macrumors P6

Oct 20, 2002
    What sort of research are you doing? I know that Apple has been actively to to enter the scientific arena. You should send your switch story into Apple, they just might post in on their site.

3. miseldine thread starter macrumors newbie

Apr 28, 2005
    I'm a breast cancer researcher, but in computer science rather than any particular medical sense with test tubes and the like.

I might very well submit something to Apple, cheers for the link!
  4. leekohler macrumors G5

Dec 22, 2004
    Chicago, Illinois
    Good for you! Yet another happy Mac switcher. Congrats.