I love the iMac, but ...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by caccamolle, May 18, 2006.

  1. caccamolle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #1
    should I get one ?

    So how is this iMac working out ? I've been wanting to get one for a while and now I need a new computer so it's the time. But I am a bit concerned:
    . First iteration of dual core
    . previous iMac (only including the most recent design) have had widely known problems (including those admitted by Apple), at least originally, I know from direct experience (yes, Apple repaired w/o asking questions)
    . noise ?

    . and any other problem from a user perspective who want.

    thx guys !
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    The current iMac is a powerful and capable machine. The current version is mid product cycle so I wouldn't expect any updates. You might be lucky to see a CPU speed bump before a real revision but nothing more then that.
     
  3. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #3
    I convinced my parents to buy one as a "family" computer, and it's worked flawlessly so far. It's a powerful machine, that looks fantastic and is reasonably priced. It does however need a bit more RAM, the 512 that came with it really isn't enough, especially when things are running under Rosetta. Personally, I think they're the ideal home PC and if you purchase one you'll be very happy with it! :)
     
  4. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #4
    I have had no problems with mine. The fan noise complaints affecting some early G5's seem to have died out. Personally, I never experienced it even on Rev. A models.

    Except for speed bumps and possible processor changes, I would be surprised to see any radical changes soon. The form factor is great.

    So if you need a computer now, and you like the current model, I would buy one. If there is anything wrong with the one you buy Apple will fix it.

    Best wishes
     
  5. caccamolle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #5
    ok guys, I think that is all I needed ...

    I do love its form, always have since the last redesign.
    And of course no question 512k is insufficient, I would hopefully go right to 2gb and forget about it :)

    Too bad I might need it today, I was hoping to celebrate my first visit at the new NYC store with that purchase !!! By the way dudes, the new store is like a 10 minute walk from my place. I am doomed, I mean, my wallet is!

    Thanks.
     
  6. caccamolle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #6
    I am screwed. I just can't believe this. I was going to buy the iMac because my wife wanted a new computer to access her office's network from home. Guess what ? the client that her firm picked is not fully compatible with OSX, I just can't believe this crap.

    Now, is there not a way these days to use Window software on macs (I think it was called boot camp ...) ? could this resolve my little prob ? I really don't want to have a PC in my apt (I already have one in my vacation home and that is ok for games and my wife's work, but that's that! !!!).
     
  7. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #7
    Are you totally sure she can't connect to her network from Mac OS X? What is the client?

    My wife's work's IT guy told her that she would need Windows to connect to their network, but it took me seconds to prove him wrong using the Mac's built in network utility (he didn't know anything about Macs).

    If you are really stuck with this, something like http://www.parallels.com is your best bet. You don't need to reboot to access the "guest OS" which runs in a separate window. If all she needs to do is connect to her work using windows, you can get Win 2000 fairly cheap. Edit: hmm, a full license for Win 2000 Pro isn't much cheaper than XP Pro. But you can get OEM versions for $84 for 2000, or $115 for XP Pro. XP Home would probably work for you too.

    Parallels is still in Beta, but I've been using it since the first beta release and I'm quite impressed with it - it's 95% there (but there's still no support for applications that require a copy protected CD in the drive to work - that's the 5% I'm missing).

    By the way, back to the original topic. The Core Duo iMac is not only a great family computer, it's the best one I've ever used for Java development. It's fast, and its Unix base makes integration with Linux so much easier. To me, it's a professional machine.
     
  8. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #8
    You can use bootcamp to boot Windows when your wife needs to access her office network. In the not-too-distant future you can install a virtual machine (VM) manager, like Parallels or VPC. Parallels is still in beta so it might not be stable enough for office use yet, and I'm not sure what the Microsoft VPC timetable is for Intel Macs. Using a VM will be more convenient as you can just boot Windows in a window within OS X, rather than shutting OS X down and rebooting with Windows.

    Edit: dang! beaten to the reply.
     
  9. Glenn Wolsey macrumors 65816

    Glenn Wolsey

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    We have a Core Duo iMac in the household and have had no problems with it whatsoever. Go ahead and purchase it, its a great machine.
     
  10. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #10
    Things may be different in the Intel era though, has any Powerbook ever been updated as fast as the MacBook Pro was recently?
     
  11. caccamolle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #11
    Yes, I do really find it hard to believe. May be you can double check for me but I have to give you details, which I will do as soon as I get the details from my wife (who in turn needs to get them from her firm's IT). Note however that there are various firewall and various form of security that seem to make that access particularly messy (you know when one has to use that little dingle with changing numbers ....whatever is called)

    thx!
     
  12. caccamolle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
  13. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #13
  14. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #14
    I thought of Citrix too, as I use it occasionally for uni and it seems to work fine (on my PB). I'm not sure if it's UB yet, which may be a problem.
     
  15. jefhatfield Retired

    jefhatfield

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    #15
    i have an intel imac with 20" inch screen, and it's mostly ok, but not as solid as a G4 or G3 imac in later revisions...and if you had to get an intel mac now, i would say that or the mac mini intel are ok

    the macbook pro has known issues as this website has shown and the macbook is too new to know

    if you can, wait for a rev 2 imac or mini
     
  16. caccamolle thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #16
    thank you guys ! I am all done and pretty excited so I will announce this on a new thread.

    plinden, all it took was downloading the Citirix app and all worked. I don't know what on earth happened when we tried to do this using my wife's help desk people.
    Anyhow, before purchasing the iMac, I tested it on my PM, not yet on the iMac, but I am hoping it will be ok, ought to be.
     

Share This Page