I made a mess out of my iPhoto library

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by manic, Nov 11, 2006.

1. manic macrumors regular

Im new to mac (white CD MB 2Ghz+2GB) and although am getting along fine and loving every second of it, I ran into a few problems with the way Mac manages files.

I also bought a nifty Panasonic FX-01 DigiCam with a 2GB SD card. Took lots of pictures and also made a few movies.

Problem 1. When I hooked it up with the computer, iPhoto prompted me to import them, which I did. However, I didnt select the erase camera after importing then. But the problem came when I was editing my photos and decided to delete a few pictures that were redundant and move a batch to another folder altogether by messing with the iphoto library. the problem is that iphoto still showcased the picture preview, while it wasnt linked to the missing photos, creating a workflow problem. I then created a new library using a restore tool in iphoto. now i have two libraries and lots of duplicated pictures. Should i just wipe library one and never mess with it again? doesnt iphoto allow you to completely remove a picture? and how do I merge film rolls? some only have one picture that belong to the event pictured in the roll above, making its sole existance rather pointless. I still havent managed to do that.

Another problem is with videos. at first, iphoto didnt download all my movies into its library. I though it shouldnt, since its iPhoto, but then I started having a few movies at the movies folder in finder and other short clips within iPhoto (and browsing there seems to be easier). Where should I store my movies?