I need help purchasing a Mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by mjstew33, Jul 4, 2005.

1. mjstew33 macrumors 601

mjstew33

I am looking for a Mac. I don't necesarily need a portable, but would like it. Right now I'm considering for one of my options is the iMac 17" 2.0 GHz, 512RAM, 160GB, SuperDrive.

The portability isn't a MUST HAVE. But would be "wicked" awesome.

Is there a noticeable difference between the 17" and the 20"?

I am a student, and don't have much money. The MAX I am willing to spend is $1700.

The portable I would want is listed in my sig.

I am going to be doing very minor video editing, not that much photo work (most using iPhoto, not much of Photoshop), iTunes, iChat(or something similar), Microsoft Office for Mac, and some other non intensive work.

I would love being able to be outside on the porch surfing the net, going to my Mother's house to my Dad's house with my computer(parent's divorced :( ), and just moving where ever I want to around the house with a PowerBook.

But I would also love the unique style and power of the iMac G5. (I know the PowerBook has power too, but... the iMac has a G5 and a 2.0GHz proccesor.)
    PowerBook or iMac?

2. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

macbaseball

What about taking out a few of the specs of the Powerbook or get a refurb, and then buy a Dell 2005FPW. Then you have the best of both worlds. Or get a refurb 15 inch. IMO the 12 inch screen is to small to be using all the time.

3. Sam I Am macrumors regular