I need help with ssh

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by isthisonetaken, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have 10.5.1 at home, and we use Sun Solaris at the Univeristy labs. I'm trying to figure out how to get ssh working. On the pdf our prof gave us is a site to go to to get an ssh client for windows. From what I could find on google, ssh is built into leopard. How do I go about taking a file of mine from an xcode project, and putting it into my directory on the school network and compiling and running it over ssh?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You're going to need to use Terminal and brush up on how to move directories through various possible commands.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    Ok, I know how to use terminal. I've been writing my assignments in Xcode and then compiling and running them from the terminal. However, it always seems there are little changes I need to make when I go tot the labs to get the code to work there. I wanted to use ssh to get into those systems and check it from home so I don't need to make any corrections. My question is this, the pdf has host names to connect to. Do I just type those into Safari and then it will automatically open in terminal? This is what I'm confused about. Or do I need to go download a program, like Transmit or something to get into SSH?
     
  4. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    You type the hostname into Terminal.

    ssh xxxx.xxxx.purdue.edu

    That's what I do to get to work. ;)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    Ok, so I did the ssh xxxx.xxxxx thing, and it came up asking for my password, but no login. What happened to the login option?

    Ok! I got it working, I had to use username@xxxxx.xxx.xx and then put my password in.

    Thanks for the help Eidorian!
     
  6. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Sorry about that. I made my Mac's username the same one as the one I have at work.

    It makes it a lot less painful since I don't need to do username@hostname.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    satyam90

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    #7
    try ssh -x username@hostname will give you the GUI of the host also.
     
  8. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    -X for X11 forwarding.
     

Share This Page