I NEED HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macmonkey615, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. macmonkey615 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    #1
    So my powerbook G4 867MHz has been acting quite quirky lately.

    It all started when I attempted to load OSX10.3 and my install had an error.
    After attempting to install 3 or 4 more times I gave up and returned the disc.

    So I did a re-format putting my OS10.2 back on and erasing everything. Once I did this I did "software update" to get to 10.2.8.

    Well I've been having trouble getting some of my hardware "audio" to communicate. I was left to re-format again which did the trick with my audio. I also reloaded OS9 and restored all software.

    *****My Problem*****

    Now I'm on 10.2.8 and I've installed all of the security updates and such... I can't open ichat, AIM, or Mozilla Firefox amongst other proggies.

    Ichat begins to start and then gives me "unexpectadly quit blah blah blah... (no reason)", AIM will just pause on the splash screen and won't move til I close the app. Firefox also give me the "unexpectadly quit" too.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. macmonkey615 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    #2
    I should clarify

    My other proggies such as IE, ITune, ICal and my work software is working fine!
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    Dumb question, but is the 10.2 disk set the one that came with your PB? Often, Apple puts subsets of the OS on the disks they ship with systems, meaning that, for example, if you install 10.2 on a PB using disks that came with an eMac, it'll be flaky.
     
  4. macmonkey615 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    #4
    Yes

    I did use the original Powerbook backup disc to do the re-install. It's all I've got. It's very frustrating as you'd expect a re-format would help get a computer back to it's original state.


    Also another frustrating software issue is that Safari didn't even install so I grabbed it off of apples site... when I put something in a search field and click find it closes safari.

    Doesn't do it with logins and such rather just search fields.


    <--- pulls hair out.
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    Did you run the hardware check - using all the options? It's not impossible that you've got a disk/HW issue that just surfaced when you did the 10.3 upgrade attempt. Bad disk sectors, etc. It'll take some serious time to run, but it's well advised, given the continued flakiness.

    I'm sorry it's been such a hassle.
     
  6. macmonkey615 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    #6
    :D

    Great idea... I'll make that my project for tomorrow.

    About how much time do you think it will take?

    JW
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    Well, the RAM and disk tests take quite a while. Not knowing how much of either you have, and not having run the tests on a notebook before, I'd say an hour or two, as a wild guess. Just make sure you select every option and let it run - overnight is a good time to do it, as you won't be waiting on it, and you'll see the results when you wake up.
     

Share This Page