I need major help networking please! :)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Minder, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. Minder macrumors newbie

    Minder

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    #1
    Hi!!

    I have a iMac 333 MHz (grape, tray loading) and a 15" Titanium powerbook I would like to network. I have dialup internet I would like to share between the two.

    I have purchased an Airport Extreme Base station and my PB is equipped with wireless network card. Since then I have realized that I cannot install a wireless card into my iMac (at least as far as I can tell) and purchased a wireless ethernet adapter (per the information I found in a discussion on Apple about using the wireless adapter to bring the iMac into the network)

    I have absolutely NO idea what I am doing.

    Could someone please give me some clear and precise instructions as to how to network this stuff together? My main goal is to be able to use my PB at the same time my kids are on the iMac (Otherwise I never get any time on the computer!! :) )

    I could really use some help from someone with the patience of a saint!! :)

    Thanks for all of your help!! :)

    Minder
     
  2. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    Minder,

    From the sounds of it, you have everything you need to do what you want. I'll try and help out.

    1. Use the PB to set up the Airport Extreme Basestation. There's a application in the Application/Utilities folder called Airport SetUp Assistant or something like that. Use that to create your network.

    2. Since you're using Dial-Up, you'll need to run a phone line from the wall-jack to the modem port on the AEBS.

    3. Once you' have the the PB and AEBS set-up, make sure you can initiate a dial-up connection through the AEBS. When you've established that the PB works, tackle the iMac.

    4. Aside - If the iMac is close to the AEBS, you don't need that wireless ethernet adapter. Just run a ethernet cable from the iMac to the AEBS and plug it in.

    5. Assuming that the iMac is far from the AEBS, then install the wireless ethernet adapter as instructed in the manual. Click on the Network system pref and configure the iMac settings for the Built-In Ethernet.

    6. On the iMac, join the AEBS network and you're good to go.

    There's probably a bunch of gaps that need to be filled in, but when you hit a snag, post back and see if I (or others) can help.

    Good Luck.
     
  3. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    You can't put airport in??? :confused:

    Damn.. My old iMac G3 (slot loading+firewire) could have one.
     
  4. Minder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Minder

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    #4
    Great help, now I have another question (or two)

    Hi!! Great instructions!! This has helped me tons.

    I have gotten to the part where I join the network on my iMac. Exactly how do I configure that? Where do I connect to the internet? On my Powerbook, there is a AirPort menu in the upper menu bar and I can connect from there. Not on my iMac though.

    Thank you for the wonderful help so far!! :) I am just THRILLED!! Now I am truly wireless with my laptop which was my goal in my uneventful life!! :) LOL!!


    Minder
     
  5. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #5
    Go into system preferences>network>Airport> and tick the "Show AirPort status in menu bar" box. This should do the trick.
     
  6. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    On the iMac (I'm assuming OS X), click on an empty spot of the Desktop to return to the Finder. In the upper left, click on the Apple, pull down to Location and slide to Network Preferences. Alternatively, you can go through the System Pref icon on the Dock. Within the Network system pref, make sure you choose "Built-In Ethernet" and choose "Using DHCP" in the right box.

    If the modem has dialed out, then the iMac should be able to get onto the internet as well.

    Just make sure you've plugged the ethernet from the iMac to the AEBS. There should be a couple of ethernet ports (slightly larger than the phone port). Plug the ethernet cable into the LAN port. I'm not sure what the terminology Apple uses, but if one doesn't work, try the other.

    Hope this helps.

    ft
     
  7. Minder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Minder

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    #7
    Don't have "AirPort" listed in the network prefs

    Okay.... I don't have the AirPort listed in the network preferences, but I have found how to connect to the internet through the internet connection utility.

    One more question and I PROMISE I will stop bothering you all! :)

    When I connect my PB to the network I have created, it asks me for my registered user name and password. I did not set a password for any registered users anywhere. I have tried all my administrative passwords, etc, but they do not work. Could someone tell me where to change this setting or where to set up the registered users for my network?

    Thanks so much to everyone for their help!! I couldn't have done this without you all!!

    Minder
    iMac G3 333 MHz Grape 4/1999
    Powerbook 15" Titanium G4 867
     
  8. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #8
    Depending on the wireless ethernet adapter, you will probably have to configure your wireless adapter via the iMac in one of your browsers. For this is it best just to leaf through the documentation that came with your device and see what adress you have to type into your browser to come up with your page.

    If you use a password, which I hope you do, you might have to convert your password to connect to the AEBS into a hexadecimal equivilant. To discover this rather long mix of letters and numbers, open Applications -> Utilities -> Airport Admin Utility and type in your password. Then press the password button and copy down this Hexadecimal. This may what you have to put into your wireless ethernet adapter to be able to connect to the AEBS.

    Hope this helps,

    Billicus :)
     
  9. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #9

    This "password" is whatever you typed in when you setup the Airport using the Admin Utility.

    Btw, you got your iMac to work now?
     
  10. Minder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Minder

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    #10
    follow up previous replies.

    Billicus!! :) First of all, GO LUTHER!! :) I am from West Union and my 16 y/o son is an Upward Bound student from North Fayette!! :)

    Secondly, when I followed the original instructions, I did not use the ethernet adapter, but plugged directly into the AEBS as it is on the shelf directly above the iMac.

    I think I will try resetting the password in the AEBS before I get too shook up.

    I did get the iMac to hook into the internet connection from the AEBS by opening Internet Connection and and choosing file>new 802.1x connection. This works perfectly and I can get there through the internet connection software, so problem solved. A little more cumbersome than having it in a menu, but it works for me!!!! :)

    Thanks!!
    Minder
     
  11. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #11
    Were you able to get the AEBS reset so that you could connect to it from the PowerBook or the iMac. I thought also that it may be asking for your password to connect to your I(nternet) S(ervice) P(rovider) if you hadn't typed that in before. Not sure, though. :embarrased:

    Maybe this would be helpful if you still don't get it working: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107451
     
  12. Minder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Minder

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    #12
    follow up....

    Billicus,

    where I am running into the password is when I double click on the server icon for the other computer so I can transfer information from the OTHER hard drive. (in my Network pane of my computer, it lists the other computer in my network)

    It asks me for a password and User name to log into the other computer. None of my administrator passwords work here, nor do any of my user names. It asks for them as "registered User" or as a guest user and as a guest it won't let me see the other hard drive's files.

    Is that more clear? I feel like I am babbling I guess.

    Thanks

    Minder
     
  13. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #13
    I'm not sure I can really help you here... If you can *see* the other computer on the Network from the Finder, then you have the settings correct to connect to it. Just make sure you have the password correct and that Num-Lock or Caps-Lock isn't on when you type in the password. The name you should type in is either the whole name of the Administrator on the other computer or the short name (what the Users folder is named on the other computer).

    Maybe this helps? ... :confused:
     
  14. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #14
    u prolly already tryed this but have u tryed username admin password admin
    that should be the default password and user name for any network setup if u didnt set up a password and user name
     
  15. Minder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Minder

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    #15
    Thanks for all the help!!

    Figured it out!! :) Thanks to everyone for all of your help with this stuff!! I am finally UNWIRED!! (Which I LOVE by the way) and I owe it all to your help!! :) This is the best place and I am so glad I found it!! :)

    Minder
     
  16. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #16
    Minder,

    Glad you sorted out your problems. Could you elaborate on your solution (and restate the problem as well) so that someone else could benefit from your findings. You never know who else may have the same exact problem and could perhaps stumble onto this thread.

    And now that you're totally wireless, you should start thinking about securing your network, if you haven't already done so. I'll just mention what I call the "holy trinity" of wireless security.

    1. WEP or WPA encryption - WPA is better. Basically, this means that you need a password to get onto your network. Plus, all traffic is encrypted so that if a passer by somehow intercepts some transmissions, he won't be able to easily read it.

    2. MAC address filtering - All wireless cards have what's called a MAC address. Enabling MAC filtering means that only cards with MAC addresses that are on your list will be able to access the network. The downside to this is that you need to update the list if a friend comes over with their laptop or wireless device.

    3. SSID Broadcasting OFF - All this means is that your router (AEBS) doesn't broadcast the name of the network. It makes it more difficult for an outsider to stumble onto your network since they'd have to type in the name of your network, etc.

    BTW, I'm pretty sure you've already done this, but others could benefit from this as well. Always change the default network name and password for the router. I'm not talking about the WEP/WPA password. For example, Netgear routers are set with default network name of NETGEAR. If a Netgear user doesn't turn off the SSID, a passer-by could spot the NETGEAR network and figure out the router's administrator name and password (since if a user doesn't take the time to change the network name, they probably didn't change the admin name and password either). A malicious person could screw around with this network, even locking out the owner.

    ft
     

Share This Page