Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bryjo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 14, 2011
I have an old I-Mac7.1 that still has version 10.4.11 operating system on it. It has served me well, but I can't add new software or hardware without having a newer OS. What would I have to do to upgrade to one of the big cats, preferalby Lion? I have 2 GHz processor speed, 1 processor, 2 cores, 4MB of L2 Cache, 2 GB of memory, and an external 1 TB of storage. Any suggestions? Be gentle; I'm new at this stuff. Thanks.

TEG

macrumors 604
Jan 21, 2002
Langley, Washington
You can either buy Snow Leopard then upgrade to Lion, or simply buy the USB Key of Lion. You might want to upgrade the RAM to 4GB, for better performance.

TEG

Bryjo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 14, 2011
Are you saying I would need to go to Snow Leopard before going to Lion, or will the USB drive allow me to go directly from Tiger to Lion? If the steps are incremental, does that mean I have to upgrade to Leopard, then Snow Leopard, then Lion? This could get expensive couldn't it.

rkaufmann87

macrumors 68000
Dec 17, 2009
Folsom, CA
Are you saying I would need to go to Snow Leopard before going to Lion, or will the USB drive allow me to go directly from Tiger to Lion? If the steps are incremental, does that mean I have to upgrade to Leopard, then Snow Leopard, then Lion? This could get expensive couldn't it.

You cannot jump from Tiger directly to Lion, one of the system requirements of Lion is a Mac that is running Snow Leopard. However you can buy Leopard and upgrade to Snow Leopard then run System Update to get to 10.6.6 or above and then buy Lion from the App Store. This upgrade will only cost $58.99, which is $29 for Snow Leopard and $29.99 for Lion.

Below is a copy from Lion's Tech Spec page:

General requirements

Mac computer with an Intel Core 2 Duo, Core i3, Core i5, Core i7, or Xeon processor
2GB of memory