I really like... (filling window width)

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by DoogieWoogie, Nov 1, 2006.

  1. DoogieWoogie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #1
    how the Mac Rumors site fits the entire Safari window.

    The BBC website is good but it only utilises about half the width of Safari. Thats dumb.
     
  2. NeoMac macrumors regular

    NeoMac

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    #2
    I like the pretty colors! :D

    No, just kidding. I like hearing the latest rumors.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    That's why I come here.

    *Points to the floor*
     
  4. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    It takes a little more effort to make a website that adapts to the window width, rather than having a fixed-width design, but it's almost always worthwhile.

    I wish the vBulletin "Reply to Thread" textbox would adjust to the window width too.
     
  5. skoker macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #5
    Can't you change that in the templates? (DISCLAIMER: I only have real experience with phpBB boards, so if I say something that makes no sense that's why :p )

    Like something in here?:

    PHP:
        <tr valign="top">
            <
    td class="controlbar"><textarea name="message" id="vB_Editor_001_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:540px; height:250px" tabindex="1" dir="ltr">[quote="Doctor Q, post: 3008601"]It takes a little more effort to make a website that adapts to the window widthrather than having a fixed-width designbut it's almost always worthwhile.

    I wish the vBulletin "Reply to Thread" textbox would adjust to the window width too.[/QUOTE]

    </textarea></td>
            <td class="controlbar">
     
  6. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #6
    you can fix that with simple template changes. Simple for those that know about the template changes in general

    EDIT: You may actually need to change the js file, I am currently looking into it
     
  7. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    Let me amend my statement to say "I wish by default the vBulletin Reply to Thread textbox would adjust to the window width." We've made dozens of changes to templates, and we could completely write all of vBulletin if we wanted to, but it's a bother to maintain template changes through each upgrade, so the more that's perfect by default, the better.
     

Share This Page