I should have just left it alone!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by livingfortoday, Jan 22, 2006.

  1. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #1
    Alright, I'm seriously frustrated now. So this is gonna be me venting. Sorry.

    I ordered a 20" iMac this afternoon from the Apple Store online, and it was my first Mac purchase there ever. Everything went real smoothly, and I added a printer as well ('cause they have that $100 rebate), and I was happy as could be.

    Well, I decided tonight that the $90 for the extra 512MB of RAM wasn't really worth it, and since the order would take 3 - 5 days to ship, I'd just call and get the standard 512MB and order a 1GB chip from elsewhere. Save some money, add some RAM.

    First call - The guy is really helpful, and fixes it right away. I hang up. Checking online, though, I see he's also changed my 256MB x1600 to a 128MB one. I call back.

    Second call - The guy is nice, though hard to understand. He changes the video card back, so I hang up, check online. Now the keyboard and mouse have been changed from the wireless ones I ordered to the standard wired ones. I call back.

    Third call - The girl's headset is acting up, and she can't understand me, and she's all static-y on my end too. She hangs up. I call back.

    Fourth call - The guy's great, takes the specs I want down, and rechecks it in the end. Great, I think, this'll solve everything. I hang up, and check online. My Order Status page shows only the printer as waiting shipment, and three canceled iMacs. No new iMac on that order. I quit Safari and re log-in, nothing. Still the same. So now... I'm off to call again...
     
  2. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
    Oh, but they got the drop on me! They just closed for the night. Damn. I'm gonna call back tomorrow first thing in the morning... grrr... delaying my order even more!
     
  3. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    i didn't know that you could change graphic cards on the iMac. seems like you have had a bad experience (obviously). If you haven't already, try resetting your cache/cookies. I remember on my TiBook, i left it alone for some time, started using it again, and it overheated (hotter than my current AlBook). So i was down at SoHo, and they told me to use it for a few minutes to get it to heat up. So, i open safari, it takes me to the apple hardware page, and in big writing it says "NEW iPOD 15GB". That was over a year before i brought it in. But they might have fixed that by now.
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    It will all work out in the end; and you will be very Happy.
     
  5. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #5
    How are u upgrade a vidoe card in the iMac, its not an opinion online
     
  6. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    It is on the 20" Intel Core Duo :)
     
  7. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #7
    You can upgrade the VRAM on the 20" iMac from 128MB to 256MB. Just the 20", though.

    Yeah, apparently the Order Status page shows the right iMac order now. I say apparently, because if I reload it, sometimes it'll show it on there, sometimes not. I'm just gonna assume everything is hunky dory, though, and leave it at that. If they don't ship it by the date it says, though, and I call and find out it was cancelled... ooooh. Bad things will happen.

    But yeah, I'm sure I will be very happy in the end, hell I'm excited about this to the point of not being able to sleep - but it's just kinda frustrating to have to call four times, ya know? Ah well, it's gonna be great to have a new iMac!
     
  8. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #8
    was looking at the 17'', thats a good feature to mac the 20'' worth the extra $$
     
  9. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #9
    You better make sure the printer and the computer are on the same Order # or you won't be eligible for the $100 rebate.
     
  10. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #10
    Yeah, they're both the same order #. That's why I couldn't just cancel the iMac myself and reorder it correctly, because the printer is apparently already processing and can't be canceled, so only an Apple rep can add to the order now.
     
  11. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #11
    Okay, the Apple order finally looks like it stabilized into the right configuration... and I just ordered 1GB RAM from datamem.com for only $28 more than Apple wanted for an extra 512MB... soooo... ok! I'm happy again!

    I'll bring this thread back to life if they screw up!
     
  12. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    This reminds me; when I was ordering my iMac (about 6 months ago) there was that same Printer deal, and I wanted to take advantage of it. Only problem was, I forgot to order the printer. I had to call Apple back up, and luckily I remembered the extension of the guy I had ordered it from. He added it to my order and it worked out just fine; I'm not sure why you are having so many problems.
     

Share This Page