i sync help please

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bodisaffa, May 18, 2005.

  1. bodisaffa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #1
    ok the problem is as follows i have motorola v620 which is apparently fully isync compatible however i cannot for the life of me get it to sync so that i can keep all my contacts and numbers backed up.
    i have paired it via bluetooth and sent and received files via bluetooth no problems atall but just cant sync it when i launch i sync and click on sync device all i keep getting is "you must add a device before syncing" when i tell my mac to search for a device to sync it searches for no more than a second and comes up with no devices found!!! when it searches is it looking for devices via bluetooth or connected devices??
    i have tried it via bluetooth and usb data cable but nothing!!! my motorola bluetooth is on and discoverable but nothing any help please TIA
    (mac 17" powerbook running tiger with latest update)
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    In iSync on the device menu there is an option to add a new device. Whilst your Mac knows about your phone you still need to tell iSync that you want to use it. The phone should appear on the main iSync window.
     
  3. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #3
    im not sure but i think i have tried that i will try again when i get home. so do i need to add the device using my usb cable or bluetooth??? thanks
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Whichever is supported. Just to confirm you need to add the device in iSync itself. I'm sure the iSync help tells you how to do this!
     
  5. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #5
    no good im afraid got home an hour ago opened isync clicked on add device it will not pick up my mobile using bluetooth or usb data cable???? it searches for a second then says no devices found!!! how annoying
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I've only ever done this with SE phones using Bluetooth. You need to make sure your phone is discoverable before adding the device.
     
  7. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #7
    somewhere in the appe downloads is a download that makes isync more compatible with more phones i think... hang on...
    Well, maybe not, but make sure you have the most recent version of isync.
    Hope this helps.
    If not try re-adding your phone to the bluetooth devices.
     
  8. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #8
    -bodisaffa

    What OS are you using - I am highly reliant on iSync and my S/E T637 and since Tiger 10.4 it's been useless.
     
  9. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #9
    yes thats what i thought but tried that, also i have done and tried the following:
    opened isync clicked on sync device......nothing found
    opened isync clicked on add devive...... nothing found
    set phone to bluetooth on and discoverable.....nothing found
    clicked on add device with phone connected via usb data cable.......nothing found
    this is all most strange as i have paired my phone with powerbook and sent and received files!!!
    when it says "searching for devices" is it searching for bluetooth or connected devices? i.e usb data cable or both?? i have synced my ipods no problem
    the usb data cable im using is one i used on my old pc where i had to install the drivers to make it work could this be my problem??? is there a way i can see if the powerbook is actually picking up the usb data cable connection??? any ideas??? thanks
     
  10. jasonlee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    #10


    I just upgraded to 10.4.1 and my T637 no longer works with iSync with phone numbers - i can transfer iCal data, but no phone numbers. I even reset devices in isync to try and start from scratch and lost all numbers in the T637 (still on my mac tho, phew!) but i have no clue what to do - this is what the isync log says (my phone's name is jT637):

    5:42:57 PM Connecting to jT637
    5:42:57 PM Device "jT637" connected
    5:42:57 PM Receiving changes from "jT637".
    5:42:58 PM "jT637" finished receiving changes
    5:42:58 PM "jT637" Processing changes...
    5:43:11 PM Warning Device "jT637" synchronization cancelled
    5:43:13 PM "jT637" engine processing complete
    5:43:13 PM Applying changes to "jT637"
    5:43:13 PM Error Synchronization has been cancelled
    5:43:13 PM Error Device "jT637" synchronization failed

    This has never happened in 10.3.x
    I'm running OSX 10.4.1 on a 15" powerbook w/768MB DDR RAM

    Can anyone advise what i need to do?

    The only other idea i have is to completely reset the phone...

    Thanks!!!!!
    -J
     
  11. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #11
    -jasonlee

    Try 'Reset all devices twice.

    But, before you do that, be sure that iCal deletes completed ToDo's after 7 days or so.

    Let us know the outcome.
     
  12. jasonlee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    #12
    I tried resetting MANY times without success - i did however manage to get the phone numbers by "sending" vcards to my phone via bluetooth with Address Book.

    So for now i have phone numbers back in my phone but i will attempt to use isync as i did in the past and post any progress i encounter.

    Is anyone else having the same issues as i am, or am i just that lucky one in a million? :)

    Thanks for the help!
    -J
     

Share This Page