I think I found a bug...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by generik, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #1
    Ok, try this:

    1) Open System Preferences
    2) Open Security options
    3) Set a master password
    4) Press "Change master password"
    5) Enter master password set in 3)
    6) It won't work! Says wrong password!

    What gives?

    I just tried that, and go one step further, I used the installation dvd to reset the password using the provided utilties. Having reset the password carefully, I booted the system up again, and same thing!
     
  2. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #2
    Worked for me. I put in the current password and set it to the same thing agian. If its blank it won't let me though.
     
  3. generik thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #3
    Ok I am starting to get spooked, doesn't work that way for me.

    You running with all updates installed?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Are you using a strange character in your password? :confused:
     
  5. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #5
    Yes sir! Wait... let me see, I turned on to show Hidden updates... checks... nope I have an Airport update
     
  6. generik thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #6
    Nope, yet the funniest thing is..

    If I go console, type su, type in the master password.. it works.

    I just can't change it in system preferences. File permissions broken? Something stuffed?
     

Share This Page