I think I have thermal paste on the CPU, not GPU?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by armon, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. armon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #1
    Under normal light use (bluetooth mouse, wireless, and safari), my Macbook CD runs at 47 C (this is from SMCfancontrol), but when I fire up starcraft, the computer is running at 80 C, with the fans running at 6200 rpm. I think that I may have the right amount of paste of the CPU, but do I not have enough on the GPU, or is starcraft that intensive? I only ask because I was playing against someone on a IBM T22 (6 years old? 900 Mhz, 16 Mg graphics) and it made no noise and didn't heat up that much, where my macbook was going crazy. So, to get to the point, should I go to the genius bar and ask them to apply paste? Thanks
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    Make sure you're using the latest version of Starcraft... but since its running in Rosetta, it will take more CPU that it "should."
     
  3. armon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #3
    I am using Starcraft: Brood War patched to 1.14 (latest), istat pro was reading like 20 C for the CPU, but SMCfanControl showed 80 C. The case was quite hot too, so im not sure it was the CPU.
     
  4. Apple Corps macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Your MacBook CD DOES NOT HAVE A GPU as such - Intel integrated 950 - paste issue??
     
  5. armon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #5
    Well thats true, it doesn't have a dedicated one, but it does have an integrated one. Maybe that one has a heatsink on it?
     
  6. Apple Corps macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    BTW - I think it is the Intel 945 integrated graphics. I'm in over my head here but I think the "integrated" refers to being part of the CPU - not a different graphics processor and it shares system memory. If that is correct, then I'm not seeing where another graphics component involving thermal paste would be involved.

    Perhaps one of the tech heads will dive in here shortly.
     
  7. armon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #7
    I was under the impression that by integrated it mean't that it was integrated into the motherboard, not the CPU. But, then again, I'm over my head to. So you don't think it is a paste issue?
     

Share This Page