I think I may be screwed

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by soupalicious, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #1
    So, i recently purchased a new iMac and had been using my PowerBook G4 previous to that.

    Today i decided that i was going to do a fresh install of the software using a back up disk image of Leopard that i had saved for just this occasion.

    What i ended up doing is wiping the hard drive completely, and the now the machine won't start up from the boot cd that i made with the previously mentioned disk image.

    I have tried installing from my new machine to the old machine by connecting the two via firewire, but when the installer restarts my machine, i get a kernel panic error (so, essentially it isn't letting me boot the new machine from the install disk that i made).

    Is there anyway, outside of tracking down and purchasing a retail copy of Leopard, to get this machine back up and running?? :(
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #2
    I can't tell from your description which Mac is doing what, please clarify. Also, the Leopard disc image where is it? On an external hard drive, optical media, etc.? What was the Leopard disc image made from?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    MacSince1990

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #3
    A new iMac isn't going to boot off a Leopard CD, because it's newer than anything the Leopard CD has on it, and as a result isn't actually supported due to a lack of required components.

    You'll have to get a Snow Leopard (and probably a later version), or Lion DVD to boot and install an OS.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    OP, are you using target disk mode? Otherwise this^ would be the issue.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #5
    I am confused. Were you wiping and reinstalling Leopard on your Powerbook, or trying to put Leopard on your new iMac? And, what were you using as a source for Leopard that you were trying to put on your Powerbook?
     

Share This Page