I think I screwed up my airport...

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by atacinus, Apr 30, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    okay, I use my school's WIFI connection, and i.ve never really set anything up...i just open up my laptop and it connects and i go. But today, the signal bugged out on me, and i wasn't sure why...so i tried to set up a network...and created one that doesn't work [because i don't know how to set one up]...and now it is stuck on that one [because i don't know how to delete it] and it won't go back to just automatically finding the school's connection anymore...so I need to know how to delete the network i "made". All I did was click on my airport menu on the toolbar and click 'create new network' - how do i delte that?

    Thanks,
    Christien.
     
  2. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #2
    I would think that simply turning off and then back on your airport card would handle that. If not, a restart should be sufficient.

    JW
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    i tried both of those...but it still [when i click on the airport icon] is stuck on my stupid network that doesn't work...?? I tried to find a delte option...but[???]

    Christien.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    #4
    System Preferences

    Go to system preferences -> network -> airport and make sure that:

    1) "By Default Join" is set to "automatic."

    2) Maybe try unsetting "allow this computer to create networks."

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    just did that [turning off the option to create networks]...that got rid of the dumb network i created...but will that prevent me from getting a signal from my school? because now it won't find the signal anymore...

    Christien.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    #6
    Hmmm, so long as it's still set to jump onto the first available network, it should be fine. Maybe reboot just to be sure.

    100% sure the school network isn't still having problems?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    thanks everyone...after re-boot my machine is connected to my WIFI!!!

    Christien.
     

Share This Page