I think my friends iPod is dead

Discussion in 'iPod' started by polevault139, Jan 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    My friend has a 20GB Click Wheel iPod. He gets the sad iPod, and the caution folder thing. I forced it into disk mode and plugged it into my computer. I tried restoring it and I kept getting Error 1418. So I think his iPod is dead and needs a new hard drive. Am I right?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    My friend decided he wants a larger hard drive anyways so I am going to replace it. Can i put in the 60GB drive as long as it is 1.8"?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #4
    you should be able to put in the 60, but why? Find a used one with a 60, and video capability. You'll probably be out about the same amount of money, and you get better battery life, etc.

    You would however lose out on the fun of cracking it open and mucking around inside. If you reformat his 20, and sell it, and factor in the savings from not buying the 1.8 60gb, you should come out about even with a better pod. If you have a 1.8 60 laying around in need of use, then forget everything I wrote...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    He ordered the 20GB. After I install it how do I format it? Do I need to use Disk Utility?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    NZ
  7. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #7
    if you wish to play music again, reformat it with the software that came with the pod originally, then do the updates.
     
  8. FDX
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #8
    I read it to fast and thought you wrote my friend is dead....I thought 911 might be better...Anyway.....Never mind.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #9
    No - a 60GB is double-platter, and the 20GB is single. You need a single-platter, 1.8" drive.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #10
    yep, difference in how thick the drive is.

    Techrestore is offering a 20->60gb 4th generation upgrade. They would have to be using a 60gb single platter drive.

    http://techrestore.com/xcart/product.php?productid=16288&cat=279&page=1
     

Share This Page