I think my G5 finally bit the dust

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Portal83, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #1
    My original iMac G5 had been experiencing some weird freezing for a couple months but I think it's finally dead. Today it was freezing constantly and weird crazy lines covered the screen. Next time, I came back to it and the lines were back and the fan was going nuts. I turned it off and now it's really screwed up from boot.

    Is it safe to assume the thing's just been run into the ground and has now officially bit the dust?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #2
    Check your RAM. The same symptoms happened to me when I upgraded to a bad batch or RAM. Replacing the original working RAM fixed the problem until OWC sent me some new sticks.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    ceezy3000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    The Valley!!
    #3
    try everything you can!
    1st: try resetting the pram by holding command+option+R+P when you turn it on.
    2nd.try safebooting by holding shift on startup
    3rd. try hitting it
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #4
    My favorite choice!:D
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #5
    It's not dead I'm sure probably just a hardware issue and a fresh reinstall will fix things right up. If I can keep a G4 working on bubblegum coat hangers duct tape and spit that's passing the 10 year mark I'm certain a G5 has a lot more life in it than that:D
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #6
    Darn right! :apple:
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #7
    Hardware isn't the OS. The OS is software and the computer itself is hardware.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #8
    Hehe, tried all 3 and switching the RAM but no change. At least my new MBP should get here Monday. I'll see if I can get far enough to wipe/reinstall but my superdrive hasn't worked much for about a year :)

    Maybe I'll just pop out the HDD but I think my backup's up to date.
     
  9. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    no1 has mentioned this yet it could be the cause::

    if the screen is going all crazy and liney they it could be

    *pause*

    the GPU!!!!

    run the hardware test if you can!
     
  10. macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
  11. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    not neccesarily
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #13
    You'd be surprised how a bad piece of ram or a fxxcked up PCI card can effect software over the course when the software is forced to operate under bad physical conditions and limitations that can lead to anomalies in the software's code, errors can build up over time.
     

Share This Page