i thought all of you guys were exaggerating...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fobishduck, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. fobishduck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #1
    ok. yesterday, i receive my pb (12", 1.33GHz, 256MB, ....). prior to receiving it, i saw how 90% (maybe it's me who's exaggerating now) of people all said to increase the ram. well, since i haven't used apple in 20 years (not kiddidng), i decided to trust you and order a stick of 512MB in advance.

    of course, i had to prove to myself that this would really show up in some conspicuous way. i did two things. i downloaded an app called SuperPrime, ran it, and the app finished the task in 40 seconds. of course, i wasn't convinced if this would be enough. so, i had a bunch of other apps running and just happened to turn on garageband. it complained of insufficient memory! aha!... i thought. because i'll know for sure if i do the same thing and run garageband after i install the new stick.

    ok... immediately after installing the additional memory, i repeated the two things mentioned above. For SuperPrime, now my lappy can finish the same task in 35 seconds, whopping 12.5% improvement. ok... so, not exactly three times faster (256MB vs. 768MB). then, i did the same thing for garageband, and guess what? the thing played without saying anything back to me...

    now, i'm happy... oh, by the way, if any newbie out there wants to install ram but feels it may be difficult, don't worry. i was born with ten thumbs and even i can do it. really... and no... i won't be posting any pictures of my hands.

    on my way to mastering panther before taming tiger..... :cool:
     
  2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    congrats on the new mac and getting the memory...it is amazing what a little extra can do. I just upgraded my machine as well and had been wishing I had done it earlier.

    D
     
  3. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #3
    i'm looking forward to this, we bought an iMac G5 last year and haven't wrangled up the cash for a memory upgrade yet, so it's at !256! which is a bit low. All this power and no memory to feed it. In the next couple weeks, I'll swap in 2x512, giving me 1gb of RAM running 64-bit... should be like getting a new computer all over again.
     
  4. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #4
    Is the iMac memory user installable and easy?

     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Yes, iMac G5 RAM is user installable. It is a fairly tight fit, and RAM modules with heat spreaders (like some PC overclocking style RAM) will not work (and may damage the machine if you force them).
     
  6. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #6
    With a 1.33 GHz PB and 512 RAM, imagine what a 1.5 GHz PB and 512 RAM can do! I'm so happy I want a powerbook now instead of before lol!

    All this PB talk makes me want one. now to convince dad...
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7
    Yeah i am just really happy i finally went to 512 RAM last night at the Tiger releasing, i got a 256 chip because i had 384 before, and even i can tell the difference now with adding just 128 MB of RAM
     
  8. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #8
    Another great program for memory help is Do I Need More Memory? It looks at the tasks as you go about you day to day tasks and tells you what improvement you would see by increasing RAM.
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    There really aren't any Macs that you'd want to use that memory in, heck it may look nice and fit in a PM G5 -- but it would block airflow around the DIMMs, which isn't good.

    With Macs it's best to avoid the OC memory and stick with memory rated at the required speed -- if not rated the next grade faster if you think the memory may be marginal.
     
  10. BurtonCCC macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #10
    Nice...

    I'm glad that my 12" (coming in the mail any day now!!!) comes standard with 512MB. :)

    Daniel
     
  11. capone2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    chelsea-nyc
    #11
    my friend installed tiger with only 384kram on 2 ibooks

    he will regret it !! tiger needs ram more than panther did, and one ibook is a g4 933mhz and the other is an old g3 600mhz. i told him ram ram.

    ps. he installed tiger saturday and i haven't heard from him since!

    he got the best deal in the country.......J+R computer world in NYC gave to the first 50 people tiger for $95 plus a free isight camera. And everyone else after just tiger for 95.

    thats a deal and my friend was number 35 in line.

    PB 17'1.5ghz 1gb ram.
    10.3.9
     

Share This Page