I want a cheap laptop, help me please macforums...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Smileyguy, Nov 5, 2006.

1. Smileyguy macrumors 6502

Hi everbody,

I'm going to buy a laptop, with a little help from my parents, for Christmas. I'm a college student, and my parents aren't exactly wealthy either, so I'm probably going to have to either buy a) a used mac laptop or b) a new PC one.

My budget is €700, though I'd like to keep it to €600, which by direct conversion is $890 and $760. So I ideally want to keep it under $760.

Here's what I want the machine to do:

1) My main use for this will be writing / journalism, so that means: word processing and internet (wireless). Reasonable download speeds are important, I download a lot of files, mainly PDFs.
    2) Maybe some basic photo/movie stuff: iMovie, iPhoto, and maybe some light Photoshop
    3) I'd like it to be able to work well with various media: Youtube, online
    radio, the occasional DVD
    4) Maybe a little use of Quark from time to time

Having done some browsing of eBay and some other used/secondhand sites, I've come to the conclusion that I can probably pick up a G4 iBook/Powerbook in the 900Mhz-1.4Ghz speed range for this kind of price. However, for a similar price I could probably also pick up a brand new, more powerful PC with a DVD burner.

So my big question, really, is what is more important to me - having OSX or having the power. If I will be able to do all of these tasks quickly and hassle free for the next 3years+ (I know I may be pushing it, but I'd love if this machine could work for up to 5 years, if I max out the ram) and be capable of upgrading to the latest software along the way, I'll go for the mac, because I'm finding the thought of giving up OSX very difficult. If I won't be able to manage this, I'll go for a PC and pretend to myself that Vista or Linux is just as good.

So, I have the following questions: