I want to upgrade what I can on my eMac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by macswitcha2, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #1
    System details below:

    Machine Name: eMac

    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.1)

    Number Of CPUs: 1

    CPU Speed: 1 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB

    Memory: 256 MB

    Bus Speed: 167 MHz

    Boot ROM Version: 4.8.8f0

    ATA:

    ATA 3 Bus > HL-DT-ST CD-ROM GCR-8522B

    ATA 6 Bus > Maxtor 2F040L0 40 GB

    OSX 10.3.9


    What can I upgrade? Make better?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    is the hard drive accessible? you could replace it with a fast and larger model
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #4
    yeah I want to upgrade the Ram so I can have 2 GB and possibly get leopard or Tiger but I already have Leopard on my one personal computer. Which is better, Tiger on the eMac or leopard?


    I also want to get a faster bigger hard drive, possibly a DVD instead of Cd-rom
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #5
    There is no way I can upgrade the graphics card???
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #6
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    It can only take 1GB :( I think Tiger may work smoother than Leopard

    eMac has Ultra ATA drive and those are quite hard to get but there are some which are faster and bigger

    Nope :(
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    you can not upgrade the graphics card, it is soldered to the motherboard.

    the ram is the only "easy" upgrade you can do. Max that baby out at 1 or 2 gigs depending on model... i had a 1ghz and it maxed out at 1. 2x512's

    the hard disk can be replaced but its not as easy, i never even attempted to find out how.

    leopard runs fine if you max the ram out.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #10
    Thanks for all the information!!!

    Too bad it cannot have a better graphic card, it will be such a faster machine.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    It won't really affect normal day use, only if you're gaming or video editing
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #12
    BTW, anyone know why I have to connect a Ethernet cable to the emac in order for it to get internet? The airport it has picks up my WiFi but it needs the cable to work.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #13
    i`m not a expert and if i`m wron dont shoot me , but first if your mac has 802.11 b standard and your router 802.11g ,
    then it might be the encryption as g only supports wep and wpa while the b supports also other standards , or was it the other way round , i could be wrong there but in theory the result would be the same ,
    but that could be the problem try to match the encryption of both , because if your mac trys to encrypt your password with wep and your router expect wpa they can`t understand each other , ethernet is not effected by that
    the other problem could be if a phone or microwave or similar things are nearby they could cause interference , could be solved if you use another channel some are less affected by interference then others

    but like i said i`m no expert , but its always worth to try :confused:
     

Share This Page