I want YOUR Approval! :)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Unverrich, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Ok, so I got a question and I want you guys to give me some feedback and let me know if its a good idea or not.

    I have 2 Apple TV's, in the Living Room and Bedroom. They are wired to my Airport Extreme Base-station. I have a 24" iMac 2.93GHz with 4GB Ram, and I have 8 External HD's attached to a USB hub to my iMac. (1 is Time Machine, 7 are Content for Apple TV) (1,155 Movies=2.4TB & 248 TV Shows=2.2TB)

    Everything right now runs perfect and I love it. But I want to move my Airport Extreme and all my Hard Drives to one central location and cool everything down. So I was going to purchase a Mac Mini (Low End) and place it in my closet and hook everything up to that and make it just for my Apple TV content.

    Is this a dumb/bad idea? I will be putting fans and such to cool it down but I didn't know if there was a better idea on this? I tried hooking my USB hub to my Airport Extreme but everytime the computer restarted it couldn't find my movies in iTunes because I would have to go and re-mount all 7 of my HD's.

    Anything? Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    DoNoHarm

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    SFO
    #2
    sounds like a good idea, but Jeff, aren't you worried about spam bots getting your info from these posts?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    What do you mean? If I did the MacMini then all my HD's will be connected to that, not the Airport Extreme. I just tried putting the HD's on the Airport for the time being and I didn't like the outcome, having to put in my password every time I want to access my HD's.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    by spambots he means that your email address is open to the world in your signature.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Another Question I had was if I decided to do the MacMini, does it matter how fast it is if I am just running iTunes? Reason I am asking is because do I buy a new low end one from Apple or buy a used Old one on eBay. (Like the old 1.6GHz, 1GB Ram)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Good Call, I took it off. ;)
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    TRAG

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana, USA
    #7
    A Mac mini seems like a good way to go. But try your AirPort Extreme again. You'd be buying another computer for basically the same thing it's suppose to do. If you go with the mini, you may as well put that in your living room and turn it into a HT setup. It would then show movies on your TV and stream to your other Apple TV. That's a good route. Just try troubleshooting the Extreme.
     
  8. macrumors member

    FoundAHalo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #8
    Well, here's an example - I'm running a setup similar to yours, however with two 1.5TB external drives filled with movies, music, and tv shows, providing content for two Apple TVs as well as a couple computers (all hooked-up wirelessly via an Airport Extreme), and the "media server" I'm using is an old eMac running Leopard that I picked up for $70 on eBay, and I haven't had a single problem with that. I haven't even had to upgrade the RAM from the original 512MB as yet.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #9
    Couldn't you sell the 8 hard drives, and buy a NAS and fill that up with ~6-8TB of space?

    That way, you can connect that to your Mini (In the living room), using one USB port, and if you need more external hard drives, hook them up with the other USB ports.
    Then stream the content to your other Apple TV.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    I dont know what Im looking for when troubleshooting. I don't know how to get around my iTunes library not finding my movies on my HDs connected to the Airport Extreme after I reboot my computer. It shows them in the shared drive on the finder, but I have to go into each HD and mount them and type in a password and everything works fine. But I restart and have to do that all over again... any suggestions?


    Wow, I guess I could do something similar instead of a MacMini. Is the computer you bought Intel or Power PC? What is the HD size in it and the Processor spec?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    Well I have 8 HD's but only 4 Enclosures. I bought 4 enclosure kits that hold 2 HD's each and I'm pretty happy with them. Its a swappable enclosure kit so I can remove and change out the HD's very easily.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
  13. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #13
    Just make sure you check the shipping price. That is one HEAVY and BIG box (assuming they use something close to the original size). Did i mention heavy?

    We have a 1.25mhz G4 that the kids use, it's been a work horse for the kids. The Super Drive is getting ready to go though i think, and it's loud. I swear the fan did not used to be this loud nor stay on all the time. I just put Leopard on it about a month ago, and i have maxed the ram.

    So just make sure you won't be overpaying with the shipping!
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Are you running your ATV`s hacked to mount network drives?
    Is that why you are being asked for a password each time?

    Personally have a core duo mini coupled with a drobo+4x1TB which gives me 2.7TB of redundant storage sharing via iTunes over an airport extreme 802.11n only network. It works very well for this purpose except that the drobo parks the drives and then starts them slowly 1 at a time. However that`s really only for the first thing after not using it for a while. (Must see if i can switch this off).

    I imagine with all those drives you`re at an increased risk of at least a partial loss in data. Does that worry you at all?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    Yeah, I saw that and was looking at the price. My only concern about buying one is I want to make sure I can install Leopard, and run iTunes fine and play all my Movies/TV Shows/Music fine on the computer. Also, stream to my Apple TV fine wired over gigabit Ethernet.

    Is there certain specs I should be looking for in an older Mac?
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    No, Apple TVs are not hacked at all.

    I am being asked for my password on my Mac for the HD's not Apple TV.

    It does but I don't want to go and spend more money on more HD's to backup all 6-7TB of Video files.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Why do you shut down the iMac? We've got ours in our bedroom and we just sleep it at night, (if we remember).
    The only noise comes from the external drives, and if you (we) had them on the AE in a closet then there'd be no noise at all. Try sleep instead of shutdown, it could save you some money.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #18
    I do if I will be out of town for a couple days, or if I install something and it needs to reboot. Also when I go into Windows via Bootcamp because I rip Blu-Ray movies.

    Anyone have any suggestions as to why I have to re-type in my password and mount all my HD's every-time?
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #19
    The password should be in keychain, look for an afp mount entry matching a drive and check it has a password.
    If you do, delete it and then next time you try and mount the drive the keychain entry will be recreated, it might work this time.
    If there`s no AFP entry then you can try creating one by hand. Can't give instructions right now as i'm not near a mac.

    That would be prohibitive as you'd be buying a equal amount of storage ie. a mirror. The advantage of a Drobo or other array is you typically buy 1.25-1.5 times the storage you need, the surplus is used as parity to rebuild in the event of a disk failure.

    I accept you have a large investment in drives already, i just hope that anything critical is on more than just the iMac and the Time Machine drive.

    Oh, just occurred to me, if you buy a drobo, take the 4 largest drives out of their cases and install them in that. Play around on the drobolator tool at www.drobo.com to see how much useable storage you`d get. Then as bigger drives become cheaper you can put them in the cases/drobo as your requirements change.

    I've only got a weeny 2TB library on my 2.7TB Drobo, but i'm watching the price of 2TB drives and when they're reasonable i'll pop 2x1TB's out into my macpro and pop 2x2TB's into the Drobo.

    When you are getting into the 6-7TB range there isn't a cheap option other than a very large spindle of DVD's and a lot of time on your hands. Or with a cool grand and change in your pocket the DroboPro. :eek:

    Regards
    M.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    spaceboots06

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    The Rotten Apple
  21. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #21
    Re: I want YOUR Approval! :)

    Sorry, don't know you well enough.

    Though I can probably give you a Scooby Snack, pat you on the head, and say "good boy."
     
  22. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    Well I can see we are all friendly around here...
     
  23. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    So if I buy that second one, it will be good enough to drive both my Apple TVs and run iTunes? It will have 5-6 External Enclosures hooked up to it with a USB hub, just making sure that will work as well.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    I've just been playing about with AirPort Utility, and noticed this that may help your USB drives attached the the AEBS stay connected, but may just be rubbish!

    Open Airport Utility and look at the settings for your AEBS.
    Click on 'Disks' then select the 'File Sharing' tab.
    On this bit you can select the password for your shared disks, you may be able to change this to something that stops them disconnecting, mine uses the Time Capsule Password, (obviously your AEBS won't say that;)) I can also choose 'With a Disk Password' or 'With Accounts', and you can select to remember this in your keychain.

    HTH
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #25
    Pretty much any computer should handle streaming to the Apple TV. I'm just using a 500Mhz G4 PowerMac w/ 1GB RAM with 4 external HDs and it works just fine. I don't use it for anything else though, it just sits down the basement and serves media.
     

Share This Page