I won a Mac Classic!

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by steelphantom, Jan 29, 2006.

  1. steelphantom macrumors 6502a

    steelphantom

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #1
  2. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
  3. Glenn Wolsey macrumors 65816

    Glenn Wolsey

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
  4. MacMosher macrumors 6502

    MacMosher

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Nice I remeber having one of those when I was a youngin' ahaha there amazing little machines.
     
  5. MacEffects macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Darkspear
    #5
    Nice find... I used to play on these along time ago, mainly awesome vintage games. And, well... I have on but its a fish tank now :cool:
     
  6. MacMosher macrumors 6502

    MacMosher

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    You made it into a fishtank ?!?!?! thats insane... and a wicked Idea.
     
  7. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #7
    uh, you mean you bought it for $22. you can always put linux on it and show how uber-1337 you are.
     
  8. steelphantom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    steelphantom

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #8
    I don't think I'll be turning my new Mac into an aquarium any time soon. :eek: What are some good games for System 7 that will run on my Classic?

    By "won" I mean I won the auction on eBay. As far as Linux goes, I think System 7 will suit me just fine for now. ;) I'm not quite that 1337... yet.
     
  9. bodeh6 macrumors 6502a

    bodeh6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    #9
    that thing is so retro its awesome. I wonder if the internet will work on it?
     
  10. savar macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #10
    It has System 7.0.1. That included a TCP/IP control panel I think. The question is what kind of physical media to use. Old macs like that I think used a special converter to get ethernet in and out.

    Not to mention figuring out what browser software to use. And solving the chicken-egg problem of how to download it.

    Could be a fun (and expensive and frivolous) adventure...
     
  11. chasemac macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
  12. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #12
    yes, it should work on the internet, but very slowly! Once in a while i use my LC II online, and it takes like 3 minutes to load one page!
     
  13. steelphantom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    steelphantom

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #13
    Thanks! I think so too. :D

    What exactly would I need (in terms of hardware) to get my Classic online? Also, are there any browsers for System 7 at all?
     
  14. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #14
    well, you would need an ethernet card for sure... if you don't feel like opening up the case, Asante used to make a SCSI-Ethernet adaptor... Once in a while you see them on e-bay....

    As for a web browser...all you need is:

    System 7.1 minimum--System 7.5 reccomended

    and iCab:
    http://www.icab.de/dl.php

    iCab is a free vintage web browser for old computers


    enjoy!
     
  15. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #15
    Wow. 30MB eh? ;)

    Teehee. Thats tiny. ^.^

    Great catch though. :p

    I wish I had room to keep every mac I came across. :(
     
  16. MacMosher macrumors 6502

    MacMosher

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    I think we all do...
     
  17. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #17
    Classic II rather limited.

    First, the C2 is rather limited. It has no internal expansion. If you want Ethernet, your only option is a SCSI-to-Ethernet converter. (Like an Asanté EN/SC.) But, those work great.

    For web browsing, iCab is the best that's out there for 68k Macs, and really runs best on 7.5; but I have it sucessfully running on 7.1 (on a PowerBook 520c with WiFi, even!) Check out iCab's page on how to install it on 7.1 for more info. (7.1 will be much faster on the Classic II than 7.5.)

    As for games? Check out The Macintosh Garden, a clearinghouse for old Mac abandonware.
     
  18. steelphantom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    steelphantom

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #18
    Looks like I'll have to find a SCSI/Ethernet converter then. Would I be able to connect to a router using my Classic or would I have to go straight to my modem? This could be fun... :D
     
  19. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #19
    going through your router will work fine, as long as you have a spare port on it.
     
  20. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #20
    Ahh! I so want a Mac Classic fish tank. I'm not skilled enough to build my own, and I can't find any pre-made on ebay. :(
     
  21. Sly macrumors 6502

    Sly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Airstrip One
    #21
  22. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #22
    That is a fine piece of art, I can tell you put a lot of work into it.

    Unfortunately, I'd never be able to afford the shipping to New York on top of an offer, as well as the 240V issue. It's a pity I don't live in England anymore :(
     
  23. forevermac.com macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    #23
    great

    They've go to the the best compact mac made. Better than the SE/30, although I have to admit, that's the one everyone pays bucks for.

    Rgds

    rich

    http://www.forevermac.com
     
  24. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #24
    That's because the SE/30 has the same speed processor, same screen, internal expansion (including the possibility of a processor upgrade, Ethernet card, video card, and more,) and significantly higher memory ceiling. (128MB on the SE/30, 10MB on the Classic II.) Plus, the Classic II uses a 16-bit data bus instead of the SE/30's 32-bit; making it noticeably slower in most tasks, even with the same amount of memory.

    The *ONLY* thing the C2 has over the SE/30 is native 32-bit cleanliness. (Which the SE/30 can achieve with Mode32 or similar; and with a RAM ceiling of 10MB, the 32-bitness isn't even all that important, since an SE/30 with Mode32 can access 128MB.)
     
  25. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #25
    Ain't it the truth. I tried once. At one point in my 2-bedroom apartment, one room had my Sawtooth Mac, my wife's eMac, our Windows box, and then 2 LCIII's, a PowerMac 5500/225, a PowerMac 7600 w/a G3 upgrade, a B&W, a PowerBook 3400c, an iBook 600 (16 VRAM) and an Indigo iMac DV. It was a bit crowded.

    Now it's the eMac, Sawtooth, Windows box, 1 LC III, the 5500/225, and the PowerBook 3400c. I have the iMac to a Mac-less friend, sold the B&W to someone on a swap list, am currently eBaying the iBook 600, and am keeping the rest.
     

Share This Page