I would like to import Tmobile sim contacts

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by oneschance, Jul 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    ann arbor mi
    #1
    i have the 3G.
    i started a new ATT account with a new number. i am trying to avoid manual imput of all my tmobile sim contacts. i do not have mobile phone tools for my old phone and a lot of my contacts are not on my PC to be synced.

    are there any issues with temporarily putting my still activated tmobile sim in my 3G only to import my contacts?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #2
    It was easy for me! I popped in my T-Mobile sim and then went into settings and Mail,contacts. Then go down and it says import sim contacts. easy as that
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #3
    It depends on how you have your contacts stored on your SIM. When transferring contacts from SIM card to iPhone 3G, only the first number listed for each contact will be transferred to the new device. If any secondary numbers are listed under a contact they will not be transferred.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #4
    Yes he's right when I transfered my contacts it didn't transfer the contacts home number (secondary for me) so it's sorta a bummer. AT&T said they would transfer your T-mobile contacts to your iPhone with no problem.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #5
    I used SimPort to import all my contacts from my T-Mobile SIM.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    ann arbor mi
    #6
    thanks guys.

    and my 3G will not need restoring? or anything hazardous to my ATT rules and regulations will happen?
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #7
    If you have a tmobile phone with bluetooth you could sync it with Contacts in OSX using isync and then those contacts will sync over to the iPhone. This is how to do it for a Mac. I am sure there is a way to do the same on a PC (provided your old phone has bluetooth)
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #8
    My Experience

    I have a 3G. I had a T-Mobile SGH-T509s.
    I popped in the tmobile SIM card, then tapped iphone 'Import SIM contacts'.
    It didn't work. All of my contacts which were on my tmobile SIM card didn't
    get imported to my iPhone. However, It finally got imported to the iPhone.
    Here is what I did:
    1. Went to tmobile store, backed up all of my contacts on tmobile SIM card to a USB flash driver.
    2. Convert the backup file .ppb file to .csv file.
    3. Run outlook to import the csv file to its 'Contacts'.
    4. Connect iphone to the laptop.
    5. Run iTune to synch the iphone 'Contacts' with the Outlook 'Contacts'
    6. Disconnect iPhone from laptop, find all of my contacts on tmobile are now copied over to my iPhone!
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #9
    Using bluetooth

    I got my old phone with sim contacts talking to my Mac with bluetooth..they connnect ...then tried to send my contacts from old phone sim to Mac via bluetooth ..seemed very logical but nothing happened....will probably go to the store and get them to do it...:confused:
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #10

Share This Page