Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NateP

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 20, 2005
I know this sort of question is asked with some frequency, but I have some specific questions.

Background: I am a graduate student in the social sciences. But I do more than write in Word. I'm also called upon to do a fair amount of statistics work, using Stata or R/S-PLUS, and the occasional computational modeling project (but this latter is fairly rare). I'm currently on a 15" Windows XP machine, I'm gonna switch, and I'm trying to make a decision between these two machines. (Long story short about the XP machine--the virus software itself seems to be the cause of my machine slowing down pretty suddenly and profoundly.)

I know about the rumors for Apple Expo Paris, so I've been waiting a couple of extra weeks.

I'm considering some of the following factors:
* Is the screen real estate on the PB sufficient to do lots of reading and writing on? Has anyone written a few hundred pages on one? How'd that work out?

* How sturdy is the casing on the PB? I've heard various things.

* I don't knock my computer around much, but does anyone have any ideas about which is more able to take the bumps and such of life and work?

* I know about many of the technical differences on the two machines. Even with a slight revision, it doesn't seem like they'd be that profound. Any ideas under what circumstances I would miss the PB's features?

* 14" iBook users, how portable does your machine feel?

* Anything else I should think about with this one?

Style counts too, and I love the PB on this point (even if the iBook is the one in the Museum of Modern Art), but I don't think I can justify $250 extra bucks *just* for aluminum skin.

Thanks, all.

SummerBreeze

macrumors 6502a
Sep 11, 2005
Chicago, IL
NateP said: