ibook and crossover cables

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by state_of, Dec 6, 2005.

  1. state_of macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #1
    Well I've noticed something really weird by pure accident ...it is not that important but it did got my attention and if anyone knows why I would like to know for sure

    first of all i have an ibook, an adsl line and a telindus adsl modem. With the modem I have two computers connected ....my ibook and my brothers windows based machine...By accident in my ibook i used a crossover cable to connect with the modem..and by suprise the internet worked. I tryied the same cable in the windows based machine kai ofcourse it didn't work.... It really seems weird (the straightthrought cable works fine with both mac kai windows computers).

    thnx :D
     
  2. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #2
    Macs have the intelligence built in to auto-connect independent of the cable type. It doesn't matter what kind of cable you use, your Mac sorts it out internally. Cool, huh? :cool:
     
  3. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #3
    I didn't know that. That's kinda cool!
     
  4. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #4
    Yep - just another one of those little things which make Macs so cool. ;) :cool:
     
  5. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
  6. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #6
    Not sure about the mini specifically, but all Macs dating back to G3 PowerBooks (and probably earlier) have this capability, so I don't know why Apple would disable this in any of its newer offerings.
     

Share This Page