iBook Clamshell

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by etorres777, Aug 1, 2004.

1. etorres777 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, I'm Eddie and I'm new to MacRumors. I've been using Windows for 9 years now. I want to get familiar with Mac and I also want a laptop, hence, that's why I am here. I really like the iBook Clamshells. I've noticed off ebay that the processor speed isn't the fastest, low hard drive memory, etc. If I get one, can I add on (memory)? Upgrade it up to Mac OS X? Please help me I want to know everything I possibly can before I go out and buy it. Thanks in advance.

Eddie

2. Brother Michael macrumors 6502a

Brother Michael

I would assume that you can upgrade the memory, best place to check would be Crucial.com and just go through the motions of upgrading without actually buying.

It should be able to run OS X (of course not very fast). I think that if you can get one for anywhere between 100 and 300 dollars, that would be a fine way to go about learning about Mac's. Of course do not expect to be able to do anything but run OS X, email, web, and the wordpad program...

If you decide you hate the thing you can turn around and sell it on eBay without losing too much and if you like it, you can then buy a better Mac...sounds like a good plan really.

Mike

3. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

musicpyrite

Yes, you can add RAM to the iBook, if your going to run OS X then I recommend at least 256 MB.

If you know how, you can try taking the iBook apart and putting in a new hard drive. You can put any one of these in and it will be a vast improvement in speed.

You could also add a WI-FI card.

As far as the processor, I don't think you can upgrade it, so your stuck with what you get.

(If you get something like a Pismo that will allow you to upgrade the stock processor to a 900 MHz G3 or even a 500 MHz G4)

Edit: damit, Brother Michael beat me to it.... I type too slow :eek:

4. etorres777 thread starter macrumors newbie