iBook G3 500mhz and Panther OS???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by bgotori, Feb 21, 2004.

1. bgotori macrumors newbie

Hey All

I'm Newbie to this forum. The last Apple I had was Lisa and Mac SE...hehehe Just wanted to try out the New Panther OS, so I thought I'd get a used iBook G3(500mhz) to try. I'm thinking about going back to Apple because of its Linux backround, and I can use all my X11 stuff on it. I've been running Linux for 3 years now, and really like it. But since Apple Newer OS is Linux, I'm thinking of converting...hahaha

Question???

Will Panther run on this Old LapTop??? Anybody having any problems??? Does the Panther software let you compile to update or change your base system???

Thanks!!!

Brad Gotori
    bgotori@netscape.net

2. strider42 macrumors 65816

strider42

it'll run, though you'll want to have as much ram as possible. OS X will run better on G4 based systems though.

FYI OS X is NOT based on linux in any way shape or form. it is based on BSD, whcih traces its lineage back to the original AT&T unix. While linux shares similarlities (linux is a unix like OS), they are totally different code bases.

Your last question is a bit beyond me, I don't actually understand what it means exactly, but basically with OS X, you get what apple gives you. It is not an open source OS that allows you to change things as easily as linux or unix. its base (darwin) is open source, but a lot of it is proprietary and you can't just go about changing underlying software.

3. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

It's been running like a charm for me for about a month. No problems at all, I love it!

I don't know anything about tinkering with the base system though...I just use the Terminal (top) to monitor my Ram usage which averages around 550MB.

Go for it man! No regrets.:)

4. Naimfan macrumors 68040

Naimfan

Pismo and Panther

Brad--