iBook G3 500mhz and Panther OS???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by bgotori, Feb 21, 2004.

  1. bgotori macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Hey All

    I'm Newbie to this forum. The last Apple I had was Lisa and Mac SE...hehehe Just wanted to try out the New Panther OS, so I thought I'd get a used iBook G3(500mhz) to try. I'm thinking about going back to Apple because of its Linux backround, and I can use all my X11 stuff on it. I've been running Linux for 3 years now, and really like it. But since Apple Newer OS is Linux, I'm thinking of converting...hahaha

    Question???

    Will Panther run on this Old LapTop??? Anybody having any problems??? Does the Panther software let you compile to update or change your base system???


    Thanks!!!

    Brad Gotori
    bgotori@netscape.net
     
  2. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #2
    it'll run, though you'll want to have as much ram as possible. OS X will run better on G4 based systems though.

    FYI OS X is NOT based on linux in any way shape or form. it is based on BSD, whcih traces its lineage back to the original AT&T unix. While linux shares similarlities (linux is a unix like OS), they are totally different code bases.

    Your last question is a bit beyond me, I don't actually understand what it means exactly, but basically with OS X, you get what apple gives you. It is not an open source OS that allows you to change things as easily as linux or unix. its base (darwin) is open source, but a lot of it is proprietary and you can't just go about changing underlying software.
     
  3. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    It's been running like a charm for me for about a month. No problems at all, I love it!

    I don't know anything about tinkering with the base system though...I just use the Terminal (top) to monitor my Ram usage which averages around 550MB.

    Go for it man! No regrets.:)
     
  4. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #4
    Pismo and Panther

    Brad--

    I'm running Panther on a G3/400 Pismo with no problems. I did have to do a clean install after backing up to an external HD.

    I would second the "Max the RAM" suggestion--I have one Gb of RAM installed.

    Best,

    Bob
     
  5. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    I'm running Panther on an iBook 300 with only 160 Megs of RAM. I did upgrade the hard drive (actually I installed my old TiBook HD when I upgraded that one)--I think much less than a 10-Gig hard drive won't leave you much room to do anything else, but my system works just fine for Web surfing, eMail, MS Office, and iPhoto.

    Regarding your second question, the core Unix OS of Macs is Darwin. Darwin is open source, so you can obviously work on the source and recompile as much as you'd like--there's just no guarantee that the proprietary GUI will work after you've hacked away at Darwin. Visit Apple's Darwin page for all you need to know about Darwin.
     
  6. macrumors12345 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    #6
    Re: iBook G3 500mhz and Panther OS???

    It will run on an iBook 500, but not very fast. If you can afford it, I would strongly recommend the iBook 600 over the iBook 500 - the memory bus on the 600 is 50% faster than the 500 (100 Mhz vs. 66 Mhz), and it makes a big difference. Even better is the iBook 700, because that has double the L2 cache and a Radeon Mobility chip (so you can actually use Quartz Extreme), but that is probably out of your price range.
     
  7. bgotori thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    Hey strider42

    Thanks for the reply!!!

    I was thinking it seemed kind of odd that it would be based on Linux, but this is what I was told. BSD seem more like the way for them to go.

    So Apple doesn't give you anyway to re-compile there source... I guess this kid I've been talking to is kind of out there...

    Well I've got a deal on a G4 iBook, but it only has a 20g drive and 256mb ram, but its in my price range, and its a step-up.


    Thanks!!!

    Brad Gotori
    bgotori@netscape.net
     
  8. bgotori thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Hey All


    Thanks for all the Replies!!!

    This REALLY HELPS ME OUT!!!


    Thanks Again!!!

    Brad Gotori
    bgotori@netscape.net
     
  9. bgotori thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Hey All

    Since I think I'm go with the G4 iBook, but it only has 256mb's of ram, can't I set-up a Ram-Drive on the hard disk to help with the lesser ram??? If I remember BSD had that option, and I've found out that Darwin does...Soooooo....hehehe


    Thanks Again!!!

    Brad Gotori
    bgotori@netscape.net
     
  10. windowsblowsass macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    pa
    #10
    just turn on vitual memory it ues your hd as ram
     
  11. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #11
    I'm pretty sure in OS X you have no choice but to use virtual memory. its a bit different than the old OS 9 style virtual memory you coudl turn on and off, but its there and on by default.

    Note, virtual memory is a great feature, but your hard drive is much, much slower than ram, so its not really a replacement for not having a lot of ram. the more ram you have, the better it will run.
     
  12. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    the g4 iBook will be nice and zippy as long as you upgrade the RAM. I'd max it out.

    -Kevin
     
  13. Toppa G's macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    The exurbs, MN
    #13
    I'm using a G3 500 mHz iBook as my primary computer, and it runs Panther just fine. A bit sluggish loading things like iMovie, but not too bad. I've got the RAM maxed at 640 MB...my only gripe is that I can't use the free iSight I got without paying for the 3rd party haxie...which is becoming a moot point as I'm looking to get a G5 in the (hopefully near) future.
     

Share This Page