iBook G3 $75

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jhawk2, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    jhawk2

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #1
    Hey Guys!
    I just got an ibook G3 500mhz 128ram for $75 on craigslist. My first mac! It has OS 9.
    Tell me what you think. Also where can I get really cheap OS X cd? I dont really care what version.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
    Congrats. I bought my very first iBook on here in January for about $180 but it came with a charger/battery/airport card and all the original software. You can find Jaguar or Panther on ebay or in the marketplace(if you can access it) for under $20. Drop a larger HDD, upgrade to 640mb ram and maybe a DVD drive in there and that will run Tiger like a champ.


    Just watch out for the dreaded "video card" failure that's plagued about 75% of all ibooks.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    jhawk2

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #3
    Nice!
    It came with everything except the airport card.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Always in a path of a Hurricane!
    #4
    Very Nice find!
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #5
    Cool pickup.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Temecula, CA
    #6
    haha omg i want one!
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #7
    U FINALLY GOT IT!!! GOOD job what os does it have on it? look what i did to my macbook link in sig. nvm it says os 9 but i got a place where u can get jag

    If cassie still has it she can tell u


    COugh i hope u still have it somewhere
     
  8. macrumors 603

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #8
    Awesome. Enjoy!:)
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #9
    uhm it looks grey to me
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #10
    Now you just need Jaguar ... like somone suggested.

    There is a a piece of software call xdefacto or something like that. It will allow you to by pass the hardware check.

    I have Tiger running on a G3 Powerbook --- But I took out the hard drive, threw it into a firewire enclosure, installed it on a different PPC machine, and then threw the harddrive back in.

    ORRRRR --- get yourself a copy of xubuntu --- i tried ... but my cd rom is fried and after a week of playing around with netboot and HD, ISO partitions, i went the other other root ... but ya ... xubuntu ... I have it running on another machine ...AWESOME... just a thought
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #11
    i have tiger with the 4 cd version but it runs slow with 128 mb of ram i tried with my imac without firewire , but yea jag or panther should be fine until he gets some more ram, assuming it would be easy since he has the 128 built in and an open slot for 512, but yea hes new to macs and wants to use osx as he explained in a different forum which is in his or cassies link cough cough
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #12
    oh it's painfull to run anything my g3 is 333 mhz with 128 running tiger... I just run text edit and a few services, afp, ftp, http, and vine server
     
  13. macrumors regular

    isauce

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #13
    Nice, that is a pretty good fine. Now see if you have install Leopard. :D
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #14
    i could do it easilly but he needs mostlikly more than a 10gb hd and 128mb of ram, when he was saying in this OTHER FORUM, sounded as he wanted osx but didnt care what kind, im thinkin he just wants to get away from windows????
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #15
    What is the Leopord install size?

    Tiger is 2.2 -- IF you don't install printer drivers or languages --- also this does not include iLife
     
  16. thread starter macrumors member

    jhawk2

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #16
    I want OS X becuase I think it could do more than OS 9.
    And yes I am finally away from windows!
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #17
    theres the ansswer, do u have aim or msn?
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #18
    But u dont understand, 128mb of ram leopard needs 512 and still runs sluggish tiger needs 256, he mostlikly doesnt want to spend alot of money. and u can get leopard the loweest i think 5.9gb with out anything like no languages x11 or printer drivers
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    jhawk2

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #19
    I have both.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #20
    omg.... give me one of them which ever u go on most., and u dont need xdefacto because u have the right hardware for jag
     

Share This Page