iBook G3 Not Connecting To Wireless Networks.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Goftrey, May 27, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #1
    My trusty old iBook G3 (500MHz, dual-USB) is having issues connecting to my home network.

    I've tried connecting via WPA, WPA-2 & even no encryption - but every time it returns with this message;

    [​IMG]

    The iBook's running 10.4.11 Tiger. And yes I've spelt the password correctly :p Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    The network is running WPA and not WPA2, correct?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #3
    Correct.
     
  4. macrumors G3

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    #4
    Is the Wireless Access Point you are trying to connect to (your router or whatever you use) set up for a mixed network?

    You can have WPA or no encryption but if you are running a 802.11G (or N) network only the your iBook will never connect. You need to run a mixed mode of 802.11A/B/G/N to enable your iBook to connect to the WAP.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #5
    Yep, it's set to b/g/n.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macrumors G3

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    #6
    Encryption? AES or TKIP?

    I find that if I have mine set to AES my son's TiBook cannot connect.
     
  7. Goftrey, May 27, 2013
    Last edited: May 27, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #7
    I was wondering that - however there doesn't seem to be an option to change between TKIP & AES.

    I thought TKIP comes w/ WPA2 & AES w/ WPA?

    EDIT - just found some more info; the homehub (router) defaults to AES when WPA or WPA/WPA2 are selected - the only way to get to TKIP is to choose WPA2 only.
     
  8. macrumors G3

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    #8
    If your iBook supports WPA2 using Tiger then try that with TKIP.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #9
    Nope. Still no luck unfortunately...
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
  11. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #11
    Awesome! How on earth did you find this? It's now working perfectly - and yes, the 'most advanced router in the world' (BT's words, not mine) is just about the biggest heap of **** I've ever used in my life.
     
  12. macrumors G3

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    #12
    You might consider some options with your home network that allow you some flexibility. My ISP is a cable provider so of course I start with the cable modem. But my cable modem is not a router and that's the way I want it.

    If my cable modem fails then all I have to do is replace the modem. My router still works and at least I've still got my home network going. Anyway, so, I have a wired router behind the cable modem. Been on since mid 2004 and has been a great router. I have a 24 port switch connected to the router and since it's a switch (not a hub) it take a serious load off the router when it comes to NAT. Out in my garage I have two 24 port hubs which provide all I need for the Macs out there. Also, my backup wireless router is out there for anyone wanting to connect wirelessly in the garage. All of those plug in to the switch.

    Finally, back in the house I have the main wireless router. Both this one and the one in the garage have DHCP turned off and are merely acting as WAPs. This lets me connect all my wireless devices to the network and still uses my wired router as the DHCP server.

    I'm not advocating that anyone set things up like I have. These are all pieces I have acquired over time, but this network setup works for me and allows redundancy. If my wired router ever goes I've got two others I can switch to.
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    There are a few other wireless routers that won't work when the WiFi is set to b/g/n mode. I have a D-Link box that does it as well. Took me a while to discover what the cause was.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #14
    First result of "BT Hub iBook problems" Google query ;)
     

Share This Page