iBook G3 Question/Help

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jordan6, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. Jordan6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #1
    What are some upgrades i can use/do to this iBook(RAM, HD, OS, etc).....thanks


    [​IMG]
     
  2. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    What speed is the G3 chip in it?

    If it's 600 MHz or better, you could drop in a 512 MB RAM stick and install Panther or Tiger. Both ran nicely on my old iMac.
     
  3. Jordan6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #3

    It's only 500 MHz.
     
  4. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    It'll still run Tiger just fine.
     
  5. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #5
    Yes it will, as long as you drop in that 512 MB stick.
     
  6. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #6
    Tiger actually runs pretty well on my 500 MHz iBook with only 384 MB of RAM (typing on it right now)...as long as you're not trying to do anything too demanding with it, you should be happy with the performance.
     
  7. Jordan6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #7

    Wouldn't I feel some lag cause tiger uses so much??



    damn, i just checked around for memory for it, kinda expensive.
     
  8. Jordan6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #8


    So all i need is more RAM and OS X.....It even has an airport card, so it should be good....I actually got this for free, girlfriend found it in her house, has NO IDEA how to use it, gladly snatched it from her.
     
  9. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #9
    Just make sure to limit use on some memory intensive apps, and maybe turn off dashboard, because its a memory hog.
     
  10. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    My iMac G3 with a 400 MHz processor and 256 MB of RAM does just fine with Tiger. That's how I know it'll be fine.

    But your iBook probably only has 128 MB stock.
     
  11. Jordan6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #11
    iBook


    Yeah stock is 128MB,

    so the Max RAM is 640MB, if I purchase a 512MB stick

    HD is only 10 GB

    I was thinking about buying a new laptop(MacBook)

    I may just upgrade it, then sell it but thanks for all the help
     
  12. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #12
    Let me know if you do sell it (before you upgrade it lol, I'm on a college student budget).. I'm thinking about gettign a mac laptop but I'm not sure or anything yet.. just an idea I have in my head
     

Share This Page